Disable property not working on button

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
RichDotson
Profound User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:40 pm
First Name: Rich
Last Name: Dotson
Company Name: Wheeling & Lake Erie Rail
State / Province: Ohio
Country: United States
Contact:

Disable property not working on button

Post by RichDotson »

I have a button that I have a bound field on the disabled property. The field is defined as an indicator with a format of true/false. I am setting the bound field to true (*On) prior to writing the screen format but the button is still enabled and the user can click the button for processing. Is there something else I need to do to 'disable' the button?
User avatar
Rob
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Ferguson
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by Rob »

I double checked your example and was able to disable a button by setting ON an indicator (with true/false format) bound to the disable property

You may want to debug so verify that the indicator is on at the EXFMT op code
RichDotson
Profound User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:40 pm
First Name: Rich
Last Name: Dotson
Company Name: Wheeling & Lake Erie Rail
State / Province: Ohio
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by RichDotson »

I do ' Dsply ('disableCWB = ' + disableCWB) 'DOTSONR'; ' just prior to the EXFMT for the screen format and the value that is displayed in my message queue is: 'DSPLY disableCWB = 1'.
RichDotson
Profound User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:40 pm
First Name: Rich
Last Name: Dotson
Company Name: Wheeling & Lake Erie Rail
State / Province: Ohio
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by RichDotson »

Here is a shot of the properties box showing the setup of the bound field that I am using to try and disable the button.
disableCWB.PNG
disableCWB.PNG (32.1 KiB) Viewed 3609 times
Here is the code that is setting the disableCWB field:

Code: Select all

   // Disable Create Waybill button if there are no cars on the
   // Waybill or there are errors on those that are.
   disableCWB = (NbrOfCars = *Zero) or (NbrOfErrs > *Zero);
   Dsply ('disableCWB = ' + disableCWB) 'DOTSONR';

   // Display the W/B Entry Screen
   ExFmt WBEntry;
The DSPLY message shows that the value of disableCWB is '1'.
Attachments
disableCWB.PNG
disableCWB.PNG (32.1 KiB) Viewed 3619 times
RichDotson
Profound User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:40 pm
First Name: Rich
Last Name: Dotson
Company Name: Wheeling & Lake Erie Rail
State / Province: Ohio
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by RichDotson »

I have discovered that this does work correctly when using IE8 but does not work when using Google Chrome 7.0.517.44.
User avatar
Rob
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Ferguson
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by Rob »

Thanks for the feedback here. We will investigate this.
User avatar
Rob
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Ferguson
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by Rob »

Can you tell me what button type you are using here? Is it a regular button, a Gradient Button or a Graphic button?
Attachments
buttons.png
buttons.png (36.13 KiB) Viewed 3585 times
RichDotson
Profound User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:40 pm
First Name: Rich
Last Name: Dotson
Company Name: Wheeling & Lake Erie Rail
State / Province: Ohio
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by RichDotson »

It is the Bright Gold Gradient Button.
Attachments
Button.PNG
Button.PNG (10.65 KiB) Viewed 3591 times
User avatar
Rob
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Ferguson
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Disable property not working on button

Post by Rob »

You are correct. The standard button in the common widget section can be disabled with an indicator but the gradient buttons do not. This will be corrected in the next release.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest