Is there any way to expand a grid past 99 records?
We have a table below that we created a front end search on. It pulls data from the original grid. We would have went with a JSON string field value, but the grid was already there and we thought the limit of data to transfer would be much higher than what one field can store. It works great except that we cannot post back past 99 records and we need it to handle 9999 records.
99 row limitation in Profound UI
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
99 row limitation in Profound UI
- Attachments
-
- AccountComparison.json.txt
- (64.09 KiB) Downloaded 83 times
-
- json.txt
- (915.68 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
- Glenn
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 124
- Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:08 pm
- First Name: Glenn
- Last Name: Hopwood
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- State / Province: Ohio
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: 99 row limitation in Profound UI
I've never experienced a 99 row limitation on any grid.
From what I can see in your attachments, you are loading an html table based on a hidden grid (in the buildAccountsTable() function contained in the 'onload' event of the control record). From what I assume is a screen dump (json.txt) I can see that the hidden grid has more than 99 records loaded. Where are you seeing the 99 row limitation? How are you posting back the data?
Glenn
From what I can see in your attachments, you are loading an html table based on a hidden grid (in the buildAccountsTable() function contained in the 'onload' event of the control record). From what I assume is a screen dump (json.txt) I can see that the hidden grid has more than 99 records loaded. Where are you seeing the 99 row limitation? How are you posting back the data?
Glenn
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: 99 row limitation in Profound UI
Perhaps he is referring to the 99 rows-per-page limitation in the Visual Designer?
This can be overcome by using applyProperty() to set a number larger than 99 during the onload event.
However, the more rows you render when the screen loads, the slower it will be. I didn't look at the JSON dump, but if its like Glenn said where the grid us hidden and there's a table being created, I don't see why you'd want to do that?
This can be overcome by using applyProperty() to set a number larger than 99 during the onload event.
However, the more rows you render when the screen loads, the slower it will be. I didn't look at the JSON dump, but if its like Glenn said where the grid us hidden and there's a table being created, I don't see why you'd want to do that?
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: 99 row limitation in Profound UI
The data gets posted back through the grid. Had it been new development, we may have used JSON in a text field, but the grid was already there and it can hold more data than one field as well.
I can expand the grid past 99 records, but it doesn't work. If I use applyProperty the page takes forever to load and if I use the setNumberOfRows api, the visual table loads but still won't recognize record # 100 in the post back because only 99 records are defined. We discovered if the scroll on the grid is positioned right, we can locate the correct record, so we will try altering the scroll position to coincide with the table row. As for your question about using a table instead of a grid, there are a couple of reasons for that. One, it looks better than we can make a grid look and two, we can use jquery plugins on a table, but not on a grid. Or at least not easily.
I can expand the grid past 99 records, but it doesn't work. If I use applyProperty the page takes forever to load and if I use the setNumberOfRows api, the visual table loads but still won't recognize record # 100 in the post back because only 99 records are defined. We discovered if the scroll on the grid is positioned right, we can locate the correct record, so we will try altering the scroll position to coincide with the table row. As for your question about using a table instead of a grid, there are a couple of reasons for that. One, it looks better than we can make a grid look and two, we can use jquery plugins on a table, but not on a grid. Or at least not easily.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: 99 row limitation in Profound UI
Please disregard my suggestion about the page size. As I pointed out immediately when I said it, it really didn't make sense. I was just grasping at straws to figure out what you meant by a 99 row limitation. As it stands, we don't understand what you're asking in this message.
I took a quick look at the code, and I saw:
a) Your subfile size (total size of data) is 100 rows.
b) Your page size (number of rows on the display) is 97 rows.
I have no idea how relevant that is to the issue? You say you can't expand beyond 99 rows, does that mean that your RPG program is trying to WRITE to increase the subfile size to 100 (the maximum you can have in this display) and it is failing? So you're missing that 1 row? What happens when it fails? Do you get an error?
Or, am I completely wrong in understanding what you're asking?
It's important to tell us what Profound UI feature you are using that is not working, and exactly what happens that is incorrect when you use it, as well as any error messages. That will help us to understand.
I took a quick look at the code, and I saw:
a) Your subfile size (total size of data) is 100 rows.
b) Your page size (number of rows on the display) is 97 rows.
I have no idea how relevant that is to the issue? You say you can't expand beyond 99 rows, does that mean that your RPG program is trying to WRITE to increase the subfile size to 100 (the maximum you can have in this display) and it is failing? So you're missing that 1 row? What happens when it fails? Do you get an error?
Or, am I completely wrong in understanding what you're asking?
It's important to tell us what Profound UI feature you are using that is not working, and exactly what happens that is incorrect when you use it, as well as any error messages. That will help us to understand.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests