Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
Bruno97
Profound User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:35 am
First Name: BRUNO
Last Name: HAJJAR
Company Name: APLUS INFORMATIQUE
Phone: 0664771058
Address 1: 9 AVENUE HENRI MATISSE
Address 2: IMMEUBLE MATISSE
City: NICE
Zip / Postal Code: 06200
Country: France
Contact:

Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Bruno97 »

Hi,

I know this has already been asked in the past, but is there a way now to pass parameters to a Rich Display File application in the Atrium/Control Panel/Navigation/Item details without having to use the Web application Action type ?

Thanks,

Bruno
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Scott Klement »

One way to pass parameters might be to write a small CL program that passes parameters to the RPG program. Something like:

Code: Select all

PGM
    CALL PGM(MY-RPG) PARM('Parameter One'  'Parameter Two')
ENDPGM
Then, you can run this CL program from your Atrium menu item instead of running the RPG directly. The CL will, of course, add the parameters before calling the RPG.

Will that work for you?
Bruno97
Profound User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:35 am
First Name: BRUNO
Last Name: HAJJAR
Company Name: APLUS INFORMATIQUE
Phone: 0664771058
Address 1: 9 AVENUE HENRI MATISSE
Address 2: IMMEUBLE MATISSE
City: NICE
Zip / Postal Code: 06200
Country: France
Contact:

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Bruno97 »

Hi Scott,

Of course I'm aware of this kind of solution, I just would have prefered to be able to pass the parameters directly in the Atrium...
I think that would be a good feature to add in a future release, because each time you use a url to pass parameters, you are forced to add an entry in the database (for anonymous sessions).

Thanks.

Bruno
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Scott Klement »

I did not suggest using the URL to pass parameters for that very reason. Also, an anonymous program can be run directly without asking the user to sign on, which can be a security issue in many instances.

Can you explain why you'd like to pass parameters from a menu like Atrium? I don't understand how you'd use a feature like this. The parameters would need to be hard-coded in the menu, and so I can't see why it'd be any different than calling a CL program as I suggested above.
Bruno97
Profound User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:35 am
First Name: BRUNO
Last Name: HAJJAR
Company Name: APLUS INFORMATIQUE
Phone: 0664771058
Address 1: 9 AVENUE HENRI MATISSE
Address 2: IMMEUBLE MATISSE
City: NICE
Zip / Postal Code: 06200
Country: France
Contact:

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Bruno97 »

Scott,

We currently have many menu options requiring parameters in our product. I made a program in order to build the ATNAVP file based on our own menu options, but as most of time our menu option programs are already CL programs with parameters, adding a layer of CL just because we cannot pass parameters in Atrium seemed annoying to me.

Instead of having to create a CL per Atrium menu option, I would have liked to call one unique CL program (let's call it START_CL), passing in parameter the name of the final program to call. So START_CL could build the library list according to the user profile and launch the final program (the one passed in parameter).

Bruno
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Scott Klement »

Another option would be a Genie macro, which can accept variables.

But, I will discuss your feature request (adding parameters to Atrium's Rich Display launcher) with the dev team, too. Sounds like this would help you out quite a bit.
Bruno97
Profound User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:35 am
First Name: BRUNO
Last Name: HAJJAR
Company Name: APLUS INFORMATIQUE
Phone: 0664771058
Address 1: 9 AVENUE HENRI MATISSE
Address 2: IMMEUBLE MATISSE
City: NICE
Zip / Postal Code: 06200
Country: France
Contact:

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Bruno97 »

Thank you Scott.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Scott Klement »

Bruno, I have modified Atrium to allow a parameter of up to 256 characters to be passed from a Rich Display File Application menu item. This will be included in the next release of Profound UI
Attachments
parameter.png
parameter.png (15.68 KiB) Viewed 511 times
Bruno97
Profound User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:35 am
First Name: BRUNO
Last Name: HAJJAR
Company Name: APLUS INFORMATIQUE
Phone: 0664771058
Address 1: 9 AVENUE HENRI MATISSE
Address 2: IMMEUBLE MATISSE
City: NICE
Zip / Postal Code: 06200
Country: France
Contact:

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by Bruno97 »

Hi Scott,

Thank you very much indeed !

Bruno
robhathome2
Profound User
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 9:11 am
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Horton
Company Name: Design Group Plc
Contact:

Re: Atrium : How to pass parameters to a RDF application ?

Post by robhathome2 »

Hi Scott

If we were able to like comments on this forum I would be all over your last post like a rash. It's great that we will be able to pass a parameter from Atrium.

Have a good weekend

Rob.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests