Column heading width same size as cell width

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
Stuart
Profound User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:37 pm
First Name: Stuart
Last Name: Leonard
Company Name: Summit Holdings
Phone: 813-665-6060
Address 1: 2310 Commerce Point Drive
City: Lakeland
State / Province: Florida
Zip / Postal Code: 33594
Country: United States
Contact:

Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Stuart »

The column heading widths are a non-bindable property, however, you can bind grid cell width.

Problem is that cell width is driven by column heading widths (i.e., grid cell width can never exceed column heading width, which I understand.)

I am working on a dynamic grid (cell widths are calculated) I cannot, however, make the heading column widths the same size as the cell widths. So, I have made the column heading widths all the same size, which is the maximum width of all the cells. This does not render nicely, as the cell width ends up with unused space.

Column heading------
Cell----unsused space
Stuart
Profound User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:37 pm
First Name: Stuart
Last Name: Leonard
Company Name: Summit Holdings
Phone: 813-665-6060
Address 1: 2310 Commerce Point Drive
City: Lakeland
State / Province: Florida
Zip / Postal Code: 33594
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Stuart »

OK, tried setting column heading widths using setProperty() function on "onload" event as thus,

getObj("Grid4").grid.setProperty("column widths",get("colWidths"));

The result from this sets all column widths to the same width, regardless of the values specified in the comma seperated list

The list below is the contents of the RPG program variable, defioned as char(512) (these match the individual cell widths):
200,178,200,200,200,200,200,200,200,89,89,89,89,89,89,89,89,61,89,200,200,200,200,200,178,60,80,89,89,89,60,60,60,60,60,200,121,89,89,89,71,89,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
User avatar
Alex
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
First Name: Alex
Last Name: Roytman
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Alex »

Whenever you set a property, such as "column widths", you must also call the render() method on the grid. Have you tried this?

See here for an example: http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... nder%28%29
Stuart
Profound User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:37 pm
First Name: Stuart
Last Name: Leonard
Company Name: Summit Holdings
Phone: 813-665-6060
Address 1: 2310 Commerce Point Drive
City: Lakeland
State / Province: Florida
Zip / Postal Code: 33594
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Stuart »

I receive the following error when I try to use the render() function:

Onload error: Object doesn't support property or method 'render'

Here is the js in the "onload" event for the record format:

getObj("Grid4").grid.setProperty("column widths",get("colWidths"));getObj("Grid4").grid.render();
User avatar
Alex
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
First Name: Alex
Last Name: Roytman
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Alex »

That method was added in version 4.2.2. Are you using an earlier version of Profound UI?
Stuart
Profound User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:37 pm
First Name: Stuart
Last Name: Leonard
Company Name: Summit Holdings
Phone: 813-665-6060
Address 1: 2310 Commerce Point Drive
City: Lakeland
State / Province: Florida
Zip / Postal Code: 33594
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Stuart »

Looks like this version was released on 1/09/2013. How do you check the version that you have installed?
Stuart
Profound User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:37 pm
First Name: Stuart
Last Name: Leonard
Company Name: Summit Holdings
Phone: 813-665-6060
Address 1: 2310 Commerce Point Drive
City: Lakeland
State / Province: Florida
Zip / Postal Code: 33594
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Stuart »

We have version 3.3.4 installed Are there any issues/conditions to be aware of when upgrading to version 4?
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Column heading width same size as cell width

Post by Scott Klement »

You can find a list of the changes made in ProfoundUI releases here:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/versions.rpgsp

It's especially important to look for anything in red in that list, those are critical differences that might affect your conversion from 3.3.4 to 4.x.x. Often these will provide a link to a more detailed description -- make sure you read that, some manual changes might be required.

When making an upgrade across so many different versions, I would strongly recommend setting up a test environment and making sure the new version works for you before putting it into production. That way, if there's a compatibility problem, you can check it out and fix it in a leisurely fashion, rather than freaking out because your system is down :-)

Also, I'd make sure you have a good backup of the system before beginning on the upgrade -- it's just good sense, in case something goes wrong.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests