F4 on an input area ..

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
svi
Profound User
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:56 am
First Name: stephane
Last Name: villeminot
Company Name: alcyon france
Country: France
Contact:

F4 on an input area ..

Post by svi »

Hello,
I want to know the best solution to manage in Visual Designer an F4 on an input area ...
Thank you in advance.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: F4 on an input area ..

Post by Scott Klement »

You can define F4 under the 'shortcut key' property of a button. Then, pressing F4 on the keyboard will have the same effect as clicking the button.
svi
Profound User
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:56 am
First Name: stephane
Last Name: villeminot
Company Name: alcyon france
Country: France
Contact:

Re: F4 on an input area ..

Post by svi »

In fact it's not on a button but on an input area that I have to do the f4

I try to put a button to simulate the f4 on my area via
Edit Onclick Event:
changeElementValue(XWFLDN,'FMCUNO');
pressKey("F4");
)..

but it works moderately it's ok if I click on it directly but if I click on another area of my screen and then I click on it then the f4 does it but not on the right zone

in debug I realize that after my click my zone XWFLDN does not contain 'FMCUNO' but the name of another zone screen ....

I hope I am clear in my explanations!!
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: F4 on an input area ..

Post by Scott Klement »

Ah, I see... so you don't want it to work like a green-screen (where the F4 applies to the entire screen) but instead you want to write separate code for each widget's F4 key?

To do that, write JavaScript code that runs in the widget's "onkeydown" (when the key is pushed down) or "onkeyup" (when it is released).

For example, in the onkeydown event of a textbox, code the following:

Code: Select all

function myFunc(event) {
  if (event.keyCode===115 && !event.shiftKey) {
    alert("F4 pressed");
    preventEvent(event);
  }
}
myFunc
When the user presses F4 in that textbox, it will pop up an alert saying "F4 pressed". Replace that "alert" code with whatever code you wish to perform when the F4 key is pressed. This will only run in the widget you define it under (and will not affect other widgets.)
svi
Profound User
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:56 am
First Name: stephane
Last Name: villeminot
Company Name: alcyon france
Country: France
Contact:

Re: F4 on an input area ..

Post by svi »

thank you !!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests