Cursor position at top of textArea

Use this board for starting discussions, asking questions, and giving advice on RPG programming for the IBM i platform (and predecessors.)
mjavier
New User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 3:42 pm
First Name: Mario
Last Name: Javier
Company Name: Trimble
Phone: 440-721-2890
Address 1: 6350 Quadrangle Dr.
Address 2: Suite 300
City: Chapel Hill
State / Province: North Carolina
Zip / Postal Code: 27517
Country: United States
Contact:

Cursor position at top of textArea

Post by mjavier »

Is there a way to position the cursor at the top of the textArea. I've searched google but could not find any Profound specific textArea widget.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Cursor position at top of textArea

Post by Scott Klement »

Isn't that where it positions to when you tab to the text area?

Under what circumstances do you want it to behave differently?
mjavier
New User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 3:42 pm
First Name: Mario
Last Name: Javier
Company Name: Trimble
Phone: 440-721-2890
Address 1: 6350 Quadrangle Dr.
Address 2: Suite 300
City: Chapel Hill
State / Province: North Carolina
Zip / Postal Code: 27517
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Cursor position at top of textArea

Post by mjavier »

When the textArea contains about 2000 characters. The cursor would position to the bottom, or at the end of the textArea. What we wanted to do is to be consistent with the green screen "subfile" where the first record is positioned at the top along with the cursor.
Last edited by mjavier on Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Megan
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:15 pm
First Name: Megan
Last Name: Bond
Company Name: Profound Logic
Phone: 5623227473
State / Province: California
Zip / Postal Code: 92692
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Cursor position at top of textArea

Post by Megan »

Hello Mario,

It is possible to position the cursor at the top. This would be accomplished with JavaScript added to an event of the widget. For your situation, you may want to use the onfocus or onclick events. Here is some example code:

Code: Select all

input = this; // 'This' refers to the element that had its event triggered.
input.scrollTop = 0; // Scroll to the the top of the widget.
if (input.setSelectionRange) {
  input.focus();
  input.setSelectionRange(0, 0);
}
else if (input.createTextRange) {
  var range = input.createTextRange();
  range.collapse(true);
  range.moveEnd('character', 0);
  range.moveStart('character', 0);
  range.select();
}
When this code is added to the onfocus event, it will scroll to the top of the widget and position the cursor at the start when focused in some way other than clicking directly in the widget (so by tab or by clicking non-text areas of the widget). Click the text area of the widget will position the cursor at the click-point.

When this code is added to the onclick event, it will scroll to the top of the widget and position the cursor at the start any time the widget is clicked. This means that the cursor can only be moved with the arrow keys inside the textarea, clicking will always reset it to the start (0) position.

We hope this helps!

Thanks,
~MEGAN BOND
Technical Support Specialist
support@profoundlogic.com
mjavier
New User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 3:42 pm
First Name: Mario
Last Name: Javier
Company Name: Trimble
Phone: 440-721-2890
Address 1: 6350 Quadrangle Dr.
Address 2: Suite 300
City: Chapel Hill
State / Province: North Carolina
Zip / Postal Code: 27517
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Cursor position at top of textArea

Post by mjavier »

Thank you Megan. This works.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests