We're trying to use a barcode (code 128) to automate the population of some fields on a Rich Display screen. Problem is that Profound seems to be ignoring the tabs we have encoded into the barcode. I can see the tabs being executed in Notepad, but not on the profound screen.
Thanks,
Barcode Automation
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 140
- Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:58 pm
- First Name: Mark
- Last Name: Walter
- Company Name: Paragon Consulting Services
- Contact:
- matt.denninghoff
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 115
- Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:53 pm
- First Name: Matthew
- Last Name: Denninghoff
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- State / Province: Ohio
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Barcode Automation
HTML documents treat white-space--tabs/spaces--differently than how they work in plain text documents. This may be a problem with the browser and HTML, rather than with Profound. You could try scanning a barcode into an HTML page containing a simple textbox or textarea to see how the browser handles it.
What type of widget are you scanning into, and what do you expect to happen when the scanner output the tab character?
Example page:
You can save that code as a .html file, open it in a browser, and try scanning to see if the tabs behave as you'd expect them.
What type of widget are you scanning into, and what do you expect to happen when the scanner output the tab character?
Example page:
Code: Select all
<!doctype html>
<html>
<head />
<body>
<input type="text" size="50" /> <input type="text" size="50" /><br>
<textarea></textarea>
</body>
</html>
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 140
- Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:58 pm
- First Name: Mark
- Last Name: Walter
- Company Name: Paragon Consulting Services
- Contact:
Re: Barcode Automation
Yea, not quite working as expected. So, FYI, we came up with a workaround where we inserted a textbox called a Fastpath, The use scans the code into the fastpath, and there is an onBlur event that parses what's in the bar code and loads the drop downs and presses the save button. There is a link where the use can download the fastpath bar codes.
Thanks for your help.
Thanks for your help.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests