Tab Panel Heading Variables

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
brett.elston
Profound User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:28 am
First Name: Brett
Last Name: Elston
Company Name: NAC
Phone: Lanseria
Address 1: Johannesburg
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Tab Panel Heading Variables

Post by brett.elston »

Hi,

I am wondering if there is a way to add a variable output field to a tab panel heading?

I have a screen with multiple tabs and each panel has contains a subfile. I would like to add a record counter next to each panel heading so the user can at a glance tell which tabs need to be actioned.

I could obviously add counters to the "header" portion of my screen, outside of the tab panel, but would prefer something like: - Heading 1 (12), Heading 2 (4), Heading 3 (0) for example.

Your help would be much appreciated.

Regards

Brett

P.S. I like the addition of a spell checker in your forum posting screens.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Tab Panel Heading Variables

Post by Scott Klement »

The 'tab names' property controls this. You can bind a variable to this property and fill it in in your RPG program.

This variable controls the name of all the tabs, as a comma-separated list. So for example, if you had three tabs, you'd do something like this in your RPG program to the variable that is bound to the tab names property:

Code: Select all

tabNames = 'Heading 1,Heading 2,Heading 3';
Or, to put a variable in there, you could do:

Code: Select all

tabNames = 'Heading 1 (' + %char(count1) + '),'
         + 'Heading 2 (' + %char(count2) + '),'
         + 'Heading 3 (' + %char(count3) + ')';
Hope that helps
brett.elston
Profound User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:28 am
First Name: Brett
Last Name: Elston
Company Name: NAC
Phone: Lanseria
Address 1: Johannesburg
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Tab Panel Heading Variables

Post by brett.elston »

Thank you Scott,
Obviously I was not thinking clearly - using a variable for tab header works perfectly.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests