Overlays Not Showing
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Overlays Not Showing
I have a tab panel in its own display file with 8 tabs and each tab executes a different RPG program. The tab panel, itself, is managed by a service program which the other 8 RPG programs call in order to place the tab panel on the screen first and then leave that display file open. I've run this all through debug and this much seems to be working just fine.
Then, the plan is that each of the 8 RPG programs will have their own, separate display files and will overlay the tab panel with their own panel content. Here is where things are breaking down. The 8 RPG programs are writing the record format for their overlay content; but, I don't see anything appearing in the browser -- except just the tab panel (and the active tab does change appropriately).
I have "overlay" specified for these 8 display files. What am I missing? See attachments.
Then, the plan is that each of the 8 RPG programs will have their own, separate display files and will overlay the tab panel with their own panel content. Here is where things are breaking down. The 8 RPG programs are writing the record format for their overlay content; but, I don't see anything appearing in the browser -- except just the tab panel (and the active tab does change appropriately).
I have "overlay" specified for these 8 display files. What am I missing? See attachments.
- Attachments
-
- Ctrl_F9.json.txt
- the resulting screen display
- (1.73 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
-
- ACTMAPLD.json.txt
- the first overlay
- (1023 Bytes) Downloaded 63 times
-
- ACTMENUD.json.txt
- the tab panel
- (1.31 KiB) Downloaded 66 times
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Overlays Not Showing
Make sure you've turned on the 'assume' option. Otherwise, when you open a separate display file, it will clear the screen (just as green-screen does). This is a screen-level property.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Overlays Not Showing
Thanks, getting slightly different behavior now; but, still the same issue -- I can't see any of the 8 overlay panels. What changed is that previously the page would clear if I then pressed ENTER and then I would see the [X] image in the top right portion of where the overlay panel would (should) be displayed. Now, the page does not clear after I press ENTER. I still don't see the overlay panel but I do see the [X] image and the tab panel at the same time.
So, there are really two issues -- (1) the overlay panels don't show and (2) I have to press ENTER to see any of the content from the 8 separate display files which are supposed to display over the tab panel display file.
So, there are really two issues -- (1) the overlay panels don't show and (2) I have to press ENTER to see any of the content from the 8 separate display files which are supposed to display over the tab panel display file.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Overlays Not Showing
If it helps any, this is the order of program and user events:
- start program1
- open displayf1
- callp tabwrite in service program
- open tabmenu
- write tabmenu
- return
- write overlay1
- callp tabread in service program
- read tabmenu
- press ENTER
- return
- read overlay1
- click [X]
- close displayf1
- callp tabclose in service program
- close tabmenu
- return
- *inlr = 1
- return
- end program1
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Overlays Not Showing
Hmmmm... I'm not sure that this will work.
I think you can write a background format (tab panels) and then overlay it with a screen from another display file. But, I don't think you can subsequently go back and try to read them both, unless you put them in the same display file. And, even then, I think you'll probably have to first read the overlay format before reading the background format.
I could be wrong, I've never done this.
I think you can write a background format (tab panels) and then overlay it with a screen from another display file. But, I don't think you can subsequently go back and try to read them both, unless you put them in the same display file. And, even then, I think you'll probably have to first read the overlay format before reading the background format.
I could be wrong, I've never done this.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Overlays Not Showing
David Russo said the above could be done. He even provided sample code doing much the same thing I did, above. However, I'm willing to tackle just one thing at a time until he gets back. I'd be satisfied (for now) if I could just get the overlay panels to display properly. Ideas on that? I've attached a Ctrl-F9 dump of what the screen looks like after I press the ENTER key -- where the overlay panel content can be seen but not the overlay panel, itself.
- Attachments
-
- ACTMAPLD.F9.json.txt
- (3.13 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Overlays Not Showing
I've reexamined Mr. Russo's example code and he does have his program events in a slightly different order. I also realized I didn't post the actual order I was using. Here is the corrected order:
- start program1
- callp tabwrite in service program
- open tabmenu
- write tabmenu
- return
- open displayf1
- write overlay1
- callp tabread in service program
- read tabmenu
- press ENTER
- return
- read overlay1
- click [X]
- ...etc...
- start program1
- callp tabwrite in service program
- open tabmenu
- write tabmenu
- return
- open displayf1
- write overlay1
- read overlay1
- click a different tab
- callp tabread in service program
- read tabmenu
- return
- ...etc...
- Rob
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 135
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
- First Name: Rob
- Last Name: Ferguson
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Overlays Not Showing
I'll create a test program to see if I can reproduce the problem.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Overlays Not Showing
Thanks. I've finished reordering my code and everything is running smoothly, now, in navigation terms. As before, though, the overlay content is there but the overlay panels are still missing.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Overlays Not Showing
If you like, I can dump all my objects and source into a save file and send it to you.Rob wrote:I'll create a test program to see if I can reproduce the problem.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 12 guests