Some of our users have complained that they can sometimes hover their cursor/pointer just inside the borders of a button, the button will change colors like it has been selected, but when they click nothing happens. They move on into the button a little more and click and it works fine.
I had this problem a while back using Chrome but lately have not seen it on my machine. I also have looked at IE10 and it seems to be working ok, too (for me).
Wondering if anyone else has noticed this or is it just some of our users.
Thanks!
Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 116
- Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:14 am
- First Name: Eric
- Last Name: Hill
- Company Name: Integrated Corporate Solutions
- Phone: 256-760-8239
- Address 1: 501 S Wood Avenue
- City: Florence
- State / Province: Alabama
- Zip / Postal Code: 35630
- Country: United States
- Contact:
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
I see that you haven't had any responses to this. I, also, have never noticed this.
I can tell you that the way it works is with the browser's "mouseover" and "click" events. We assign code to these events, and the browser will run them. When the mouse moves over the button, the browser calls our mouse over event handler that changes the image of the button (changing the colors, etc). When you click on the button, again the browser handles calling our routine that handles the click.
From your description, it sounds like there are spots in the button where the mouseover event is firing, but the click event is not. Unfortunately, since the decision to call these events is handled by the browser, I'm not sure that there's anything we can do? But, of course, this is just guesswork.
If you can tell me how to reproduce this. (Provide a JSON screenshot with instructions of which version of which browser to use, etc) then I'll take a look and see if there's anything we can do or not...
I can tell you that the way it works is with the browser's "mouseover" and "click" events. We assign code to these events, and the browser will run them. When the mouse moves over the button, the browser calls our mouse over event handler that changes the image of the button (changing the colors, etc). When you click on the button, again the browser handles calling our routine that handles the click.
From your description, it sounds like there are spots in the button where the mouseover event is firing, but the click event is not. Unfortunately, since the decision to call these events is handled by the browser, I'm not sure that there's anything we can do? But, of course, this is just guesswork.
If you can tell me how to reproduce this. (Provide a JSON screenshot with instructions of which version of which browser to use, etc) then I'll take a look and see if there's anything we can do or not...
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 116
- Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:14 am
- First Name: Eric
- Last Name: Hill
- Company Name: Integrated Corporate Solutions
- Phone: 256-760-8239
- Address 1: 501 S Wood Avenue
- City: Florence
- State / Province: Alabama
- Zip / Postal Code: 35630
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
Hey Scott,
You know this is sort of hit and miss. I've noticed that I can get my mouse just on the edge of a button to make it change color, I click, and nothing happens. THEN I turn right around and do the exact same thing to the SAME button and it works fine and continues to work fine.
I will continue to monitor this and if I find some consistency with the occurrences I will let you guys know.
Thanks!!!!
You know this is sort of hit and miss. I've noticed that I can get my mouse just on the edge of a button to make it change color, I click, and nothing happens. THEN I turn right around and do the exact same thing to the SAME button and it works fine and continues to work fine.
I will continue to monitor this and if I find some consistency with the occurrences I will let you guys know.
Thanks!!!!
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
In addition to that, no cursor record number gets returned to the RPG. The blue L button works fine.
I have my json dump before the button is clicked
- Attachments
-
- json (1).txt
- (112.49 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
Update on the last post. I copied and modified my blue L button to make a new P button for open purchase orders. It seems to respond ok, but
I still don't get a return cursor record number. Again, the L button works fine.
I still don't get a return cursor record number. Again, the L button works fine.
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 4:31 pm
- First Name: Kevin
- Last Name: Hunter
- Company Name: Integrated Corporate Solutions
- Phone: 2567608239
- Address 1: 501 S Wood Ave
- City: Florence
- State / Province: Alabama
- Zip / Postal Code: 35630
- Country: United States
- Location: Florence Alabama
- Contact:
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
We are having users still report this as a problem in Chrome. Last report read "...buttons are not responsive unless clicked twice or in the center of the button." I have not experienced this in IE10.
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
I renamed the old grid, created a new grid, made it the same size and properties as the old one and moved all the fields over to it. Now everything works on it, except I have a little trouble with holding my position in the grid when more than one page exists. Using the P button won't hold it, but L button holds it ok. I did have to play around with some of the properties, particularly persist state to get it to work. I guess when all else fails, create a new widget and copy the same properties to it.
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 4:31 pm
- First Name: Kevin
- Last Name: Hunter
- Company Name: Integrated Corporate Solutions
- Phone: 2567608239
- Address 1: 501 S Wood Ave
- City: Florence
- State / Province: Alabama
- Zip / Postal Code: 35630
- Country: United States
- Location: Florence Alabama
- Contact:
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
Unfortunately this is occurring on buttons converted from green screen DSPF Function Keys on hundreds of screens in our ERP software. I'll see if some users can be more specific as to something we can reproduce as it is one of these issues that will be reported then can't be duplicated, but we've heard from enough at different installs to know its real.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Buttons Not Responding for Pointer/Cursor
"Persist state" causes Profound UI to save the column widths, sort sequence, and column sequences to the browser's local storage. I don't understand how that can be related to whether a button can be clicked or not?
If you can find a way to reproduce the issue with buttons not working reliably. (Which I'm assuming only happens with "Gradient Buttons") then please create a screen dump with Ctrl-F9, and post it here so that we can try it.
If you can find a way to reproduce the issue with buttons not working reliably. (Which I'm assuming only happens with "Gradient Buttons") then please create a screen dump with Ctrl-F9, and post it here so that we can try it.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests