Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Atrium users.
Post Reply
brett.elston
Profound User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:28 am
First Name: Brett
Last Name: Elston
Company Name: NAC
Phone: Lanseria
Address 1: Johannesburg
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Post by brett.elston »

Hi, within Atrium the user is obviously able to open multiple RDF tabs simultaneously. Within the Profoundui HTTP configuration our activity timeout is set to 3600 seconds. So the situation we find is that although the user may be active within one tab, when they return to another tab later, that specific session has timed-out. I understand it is not good practice to allow users to tie up resources unnecessarily however is there a way to keep these sessions active is the user is still active in a least one panel? Thanks in advance. Brett
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Post by Scott Klement »

Each tab is a separate session from PUI or Genie's perspective.

Have you considered increasing the timeout? To do that, edit your /www/instance-name/conf/httpd.conf file. Look for these variables:

Code: Select all

SetEnv PUI_TIMEOUT 3600      
MaxPersistentCGITimeout 3600 
Timeout 3600                 
These should all be set to the same value -- your new timeout. Perhaps you'd like to make it something like 4 hours -- that's 14400 seconds.

Code: Select all

SetEnv PUI_TIMEOUT 14400
MaxPersistentCGITimeout 14400
Timeout 14400
You will need to restart the HTTP server instance for the changes to take effect.

Code: Select all

STRTCPSVR SERVER(*HTTP) RESTART(*HTTP) HTTPSVR(YOUR-SERVER-NAME)
brett.elston
Profound User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:28 am
First Name: Brett
Last Name: Elston
Company Name: NAC
Phone: Lanseria
Address 1: Johannesburg
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Post by brett.elston »

Thank you Scott, I had a feeling this would be the only option. Hope you are feeling better.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Post by Scott Klement »

Another option might be to turn on keep-alives. These send data every X number of seconds, so as long as the browser is active and the pages (or Atrium tabs) are open, things will stay active.

More info here:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... e+Interval
brett.elston
Profound User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:28 am
First Name: Brett
Last Name: Elston
Company Name: NAC
Phone: Lanseria
Address 1: Johannesburg
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Post by brett.elston »

Thank you Scott, the keep alive looks like exactly what I am after. Am I correct in assuming that if I create a .js, with only this pui command, and save under the Profoundui custom directory, and then link this file under the external file/external js it will run?
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Post by Scott Klement »

The way I do it is to create a file named /www/profoundui/htdocs/profoundui/userdata/custom/js/settings.js

Then, I put my keep alive setting (and any other special settings I want to set) in that file.

However, if you are running/launching through Genie, you also have to link the settings.js file into your skin's start.html.
brett.elston
Profound User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:28 am
First Name: Brett
Last Name: Elston
Company Name: NAC
Phone: Lanseria
Address 1: Johannesburg
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout

Post by brett.elston »

Thanks Scott, it worked perfectly.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests