Calling Genie program from Anonymous ProfoundUI program

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
rockman411
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:03 am
First Name: Russell
Last Name: Crawford
Company Name: Cigna Healthcare
City: Glasgow
Country: United Kingdom
Contact:

Calling Genie program from Anonymous ProfoundUI program

Post by rockman411 »

We are trying to call a RPGLE program from a third party Document and Imaging system called Onbase http://www.hyland.com/.

This product will launch one of our claim programs on the i-Series. We have developed a new Anonymous ProfoundUI program to call one of our 5250 programs, but the program displays an error messsage "CPF4103" when trying to open a 5250 display file.

CPF4103: Device *REQUESTER not found while opening file HUT2050D in library
GCPDN100.

We have defined a new Anonymous ProfoundUI program called HWF3100 as defined below. Two parameters are passed to this program from our document imaging workflow system as shown below:

Code: Select all

https://XXXXXXX.euro.intl.cigna.com:8081/profoundui/auth/start?pgm=HMORC/HWF3100&p1=123441111&l1=20&p2=RUS521512111.tiff&l2=24
Our start HTML page looks like this:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
  <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
  <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8" />
  <link href="/profoundui/proddata/css/profoundui.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
  <script type="text/javascript" src="/profoundui/proddata/js/runtime.js"></script>
  <title>Profound UI</title>
  <script type="text/javascript">
    window.onload = function() { pui.start() };
  </script>
</head>

<body>
  <div id="pui">
  </div>
</body>
     
</html>
How do we get the ProfoundUI program to call a Genie program?

If I include the genie.js

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript" src="/profoundui/proddata/js/genie.js"></script>
into the start HTML page we get another error everytime a button is pressed on the screen. (The session has timed out)

Any advice on how to get this work would be greatly appreciated
Attachments
Session timeout error message when genie.js is used
Session timeout error message when genie.js is used
error_message3.JPG (42.04 KiB) Viewed 1092 times
iSeries error message
iSeries error message
error_message2.JPG (73.68 KiB) Viewed 1092 times
ProfoundUI error message
ProfoundUI error message
error_message.JPG (47.62 KiB) Viewed 1090 times
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Calling Genie program from Anonymous ProfoundUI program

Post by Scott Klement »

You can run a Rich Display (Profound UI screens) inside Genie, but you cannot run 5250 screens (Genie webfaced screens) inside a Profound UI session.

The reason is because Genie requires a 5250 virtual device in order to communicate (via the 5250 protocol) with the operating system. A Profound UI session does not allocate a 5250 device, it runs completely independent of 5250.

However, it's possible to do this the other way around: You can run a Rich Display File inside of Genie. What you'd want to do is create a Genie macro that logs the user into the session and runs the Rich Display. Then, if the Rich Display runs a 5250 program, Genie will take over and handle things appropriately, since you'll already be inside a Genie session.

More information on Genie macros here:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/display/PUI/Macros

More info on running Rich Displays (Profound UI displays) inside of Genie, here:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... thin+Genie

The alternative, of course, is to convert all of your screens to rich displays and eliminate 5250 altogether.

Let me know if this helps
rockman411
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:03 am
First Name: Russell
Last Name: Crawford
Company Name: Cigna Healthcare
City: Glasgow
Country: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Calling Genie program from Anonymous ProfoundUI program

Post by rockman411 »

I’ve just finished writing and testing this solution using a Genie Macro. I must admit that this is very cool. The macro is invisible to the user and the performance is excellent.
Thank you for guiding us in the right direction. Our solution can now call Genie and ProfoundUI programs seamlessly.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Calling Genie program from Anonymous ProfoundUI program

Post by Scott Klement »

You're quite welcome -- so glad it worked well for you!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests