STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:40 pm
- First Name: Jorge
- Last Name: Cabrera
- Company Name: Lennar Corp
- Phone: 305-229-6400
- Contact:
STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
It looks like the latest release 4.0.3 is not supporting in the IPAD the following :
STRPCCMD PCCMD(''rundll32 url,FileProtocolHandler
So the user can not see the invoice images that I invoke using that command.
I need a urgent solution. The error I get is :
Unable to execute "rundll32 url,FileProtocolHandler
STRPCCMD PCCMD(''rundll32 url,FileProtocolHandler
So the user can not see the invoice images that I invoke using that command.
I need a urgent solution. The error I get is :
Unable to execute "rundll32 url,FileProtocolHandler
- David
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 690
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
- First Name: David
- Last Name: Russo
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
STRPCCMD is not at all supported on the iPad due to lack of:
1. Java. Genie's STRPCCMD processing uses a signed Java Applet to process the commands. This because the browser does not have the capability on its own to run commands on the PC. The iPad does not support Java.
2. A PC to run commands on. :-). Naturally, you cannot run Windows commands on an iPad.
We do provide a global event that you can use to capture the command string to make something different happen on the iPad, see here:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... 28Genie%29
When this function is defined, Genie will pass the command string to it. The function can then do something with it, for example opening a URL in the browser. To enable this alternate processing only for iPad, you can code like this:
1. Java. Genie's STRPCCMD processing uses a signed Java Applet to process the commands. This because the browser does not have the capability on its own to run commands on the PC. The iPad does not support Java.
2. A PC to run commands on. :-). Naturally, you cannot run Windows commands on an iPad.
We do provide a global event that you can use to capture the command string to make something different happen on the iPad, see here:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... 28Genie%29
When this function is defined, Genie will pass the command string to it. The function can then do something with it, for example opening a URL in the browser. To enable this alternate processing only for iPad, you can code like this:
Code: Select all
if (pui.touchDevice) {
pui.onPCCommand = function(command) {
alert("The command string is: " + command);
}
}
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:40 pm
- First Name: Jorge
- Last Name: Cabrera
- Company Name: Lennar Corp
- Phone: 305-229-6400
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
Where should I put that function?
- David
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 690
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
- First Name: David
- Last Name: Russo
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
You can put the code in your Genie skin's "custom.js" file. Place the code outside of any function.
You should then see the command string alert when STRPCCMD is used.
You should then see the command string alert when STRPCCMD is used.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:40 pm
- First Name: Jorge
- Last Name: Cabrera
- Company Name: Lennar Corp
- Phone: 305-229-6400
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
It does not work. By the way do I need to put a ; after the second { ? See below:
if (pui.touchDevice) {
pui.onPCCommand = function(command) {
alert("The command string is: " + command);
}; <----------
}
if (pui.touchDevice) {
pui.onPCCommand = function(command) {
alert("The command string is: " + command);
}; <----------
}
- David
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 690
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
- First Name: David
- Last Name: Russo
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
Sorry, the problem is that the flag "pui.touchDevice" is not defined. I thought this was available to users, but apparently not.
Use this code instead, which is equivalent:
I tested this just now on my iPad and it seems to work fine.
Use this code instead, which is equivalent:
Code: Select all
if ("ontouchstart" in window) {
pui.onPCCommand = function(command) {
alert("The command string is: " + command);
}
}
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:40 pm
- First Name: Jorge
- Last Name: Cabrera
- Company Name: Lennar Corp
- Phone: 305-229-6400
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
It does not work.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:40 pm
- First Name: Jorge
- Last Name: Cabrera
- Company Name: Lennar Corp
- Phone: 305-229-6400
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
It worked when I put it inside function customize(). Thank you very much.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:40 pm
- First Name: Jorge
- Last Name: Cabrera
- Company Name: Lennar Corp
- Phone: 305-229-6400
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
In the command I will have an URL .
What is the best way to launch it? Using pui.openURL( url )
What is the best way to launch it? Using pui.openURL( url )
- Alex
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 233
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
- First Name: Alex
- Last Name: Roytman
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD PROBLEM IN THE IPAD
You should be able to use window.open( url )
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests