Error adding authentication to menu item
-
- New User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:36 pm
- First Name: Robert
- Last Name: Andrews
- Company Name: IBM
- Contact:
Error adding authentication to menu item
When I add authentication to a menu item and set it to HTTP Basic, whenever I try to launch that link I always get "You are not authorized to access that domain" regardless of what domain I use, including the local host domain, http or https. Please advise. I found no documentation on this error.
-
- New User
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:13 pm
- First Name: Hany
- Last Name: Elemary
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Error adding authentication to menu item
Sign on credentials are provided by the system’s configured HTTP Apache web server instance. This sign on method (HTTP Basic) is appropriate when the web server has been configured to validate users against IBM i user profiles or a validation list.
If HTTP basic sign on has been configured under the server instance in which your navigation item is running, then Atrium passes the current logged in user credentials to the navigation item. Certain adjustment may be necessary to Atrium's web instance to allow for passing the information.
Does the navigation item allow for HTTP Basic sign on? If it does not, then this option will not work. So, the first step is to check whether this navigation item is set up to run under HTTP basic sign on.
If HTTP basic sign on has been configured under the server instance in which your navigation item is running, then Atrium passes the current logged in user credentials to the navigation item. Certain adjustment may be necessary to Atrium's web instance to allow for passing the information.
Does the navigation item allow for HTTP Basic sign on? If it does not, then this option will not work. So, the first step is to check whether this navigation item is set up to run under HTTP basic sign on.
-
- New User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:36 pm
- First Name: Robert
- Last Name: Andrews
- Company Name: IBM
- Contact:
Re: Error adding authentication to menu item
Yes, and if I set the auth to off or to request then I get the Basic Auth pop-up, which is what I want to avoid.
It is running on the same system but different port. Do you have some sort of JavaScript that checks that and prevents it? If I set it for the same server but port 8080 (Atrium's) then I do not get the error message.
It is running on the same system but different port. Do you have some sort of JavaScript that checks that and prevents it? If I set it for the same server but port 8080 (Atrium's) then I do not get the error message.
-
- New User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:36 pm
- First Name: Robert
- Last Name: Andrews
- Company Name: IBM
- Contact:
Re: Error adding authentication to menu item
Based on your line: Certain adjustment may be necessary to Atrium's web instance to allow for passing the information.
I guess I need to know what those adjustments are. Thanks!!
I guess I need to know what those adjustments are. Thanks!!
-
- New User
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:13 pm
- First Name: Hany
- Last Name: Elemary
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Error adding authentication to menu item
Ok.
So, it sounds like you have the proper HTTP basic set up for the navigation resource. Now, the adjustment to the HTTP web server instance requires a bit more work. However, it's not difficult. What you need to do is to set up a virtual host (proxy) within the Profound UI (Atrium's) web server instance to point to the other server (you can pass in the port number as well).
Here is a link to the Apache documentation and examples of how to use a proxy.
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current/mod/mod_proxy.html
You will need to use only two directives in your Apache config file:
- ProxyPass -- Maps remote servers into the local server URL-space.
- ProxyPassReverse -- Adjusts the URL in HTTP response headers sent from a reverse proxied server.
You will need these lines at the top of you Apache configuration file:
LoadModule proxy_connect_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
LoadModule proxy_ftp_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
LoadModule proxy_http_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
LoadModule proxy_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
Then you can use the ProxyPass and ProxyPassReverse after the lines above.
So, it sounds like you have the proper HTTP basic set up for the navigation resource. Now, the adjustment to the HTTP web server instance requires a bit more work. However, it's not difficult. What you need to do is to set up a virtual host (proxy) within the Profound UI (Atrium's) web server instance to point to the other server (you can pass in the port number as well).
Here is a link to the Apache documentation and examples of how to use a proxy.
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current/mod/mod_proxy.html
You will need to use only two directives in your Apache config file:
- ProxyPass -- Maps remote servers into the local server URL-space.
- ProxyPassReverse -- Adjusts the URL in HTTP response headers sent from a reverse proxied server.
You will need these lines at the top of you Apache configuration file:
LoadModule proxy_connect_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
LoadModule proxy_ftp_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
LoadModule proxy_http_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
LoadModule proxy_module /QSYS.LIB/QHTTPSVR.LIB/QZSRCORE.SRVPGM
Then you can use the ProxyPass and ProxyPassReverse after the lines above.
-
- New User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:36 pm
- First Name: Robert
- Last Name: Andrews
- Company Name: IBM
- Contact:
Re: Error adding authentication to menu item
Got it working. Thanks!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests