I've implemented my first Universal Display File to expose as a Web Service.
I've got the URL working fine from a browser.
However, the true purpose is to have a web app use the URL to get information from the iSeries.
We are getting a CORS error : "origin 'http://localhost:4567 has been blocked by CORS policy: No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource."
In researching this, I found an IBM Page that seems to address this:
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.w ... s8N1022213
This suggests adding some lines to the httpd.conf file:
<Location />
Require All granted
Header set Access-Control-Allow-Origin "*"
</Location>
I've added those lines to the httpd.conf, butg when re-starting the http server for ProfoundUI, it failed.
In the logs, I see this : ZSRV_MSG0387: SIGTERM received. Shutting down.
Any other ideas on how to resolve the CORS error? Or any clues on why the server failed when I added those lines?
(There is another set of lines that can be added, but not being familiar, I didn't want to cause more problems.)
CORS Error using Universal Display File
-
- New User
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:04 pm
- First Name: James
- Last Name: Bergeson
- Company Name: InterstateNational
- State / Province: Georgia
- Country: United States
- Contact:
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: CORS Error using Universal Display File
I don't understand why your URL is pointing to "localhost"?! That doesn't make sense, and would be asking the browser to connect to the PC that it is running on...
Where are you coding this URL? Why are you doing it to "localhost"?
Can you explain why you need to add CORS headers to Apache? Why would this be a cross-origin request? Is that something you knew and expected? For example, did you have some reason to serve Rich Displays from a separate instance than the Universal Displays that they use? (Assuming you are doing that... you didn't explain.)
Where are you coding this URL? Why are you doing it to "localhost"?
Can you explain why you need to add CORS headers to Apache? Why would this be a cross-origin request? Is that something you knew and expected? For example, did you have some reason to serve Rich Displays from a separate instance than the Universal Displays that they use? (Assuming you are doing that... you didn't explain.)
-
- New User
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:04 pm
- First Name: James
- Last Name: Bergeson
- Company Name: InterstateNational
- State / Province: Georgia
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: CORS Error using Universal Display File
Apologies on the confusion.
My actual URL that the webservice is using is http://indev:8080/profoundui/universal/ ... ame=SmithX
zd3000 is in PUIMAPP, and points to my program, zd3000c.
"indev" is the server name.
The URL is being used in an app being developed on another system to get data from the iSeries. I have no idea why the error shows Localhost, but that is part of the CORS error.
Since it is running on another system, and we are getting the CORS error, that is what led me to the IBM page and the suggestion to add those lines.
My actual URL that the webservice is using is http://indev:8080/profoundui/universal/ ... ame=SmithX
zd3000 is in PUIMAPP, and points to my program, zd3000c.
"indev" is the server name.
The URL is being used in an app being developed on another system to get data from the iSeries. I have no idea why the error shows Localhost, but that is part of the CORS error.
Since it is running on another system, and we are getting the CORS error, that is what led me to the IBM page and the suggestion to add those lines.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: CORS Error using Universal Display File
Ah, okay... you're calling it from a web page that's served by another system, that explains why you're getting the CORS error. In that case, you're doing the right thing by adding these config options. (You could also do them from the Universal Display using the "custom header" option. But, the way you're doing it should also work, and prevents you from needing to do it separately on each display file.)
Presumably, you've got some sort of a syntax error in your configuration that's causing the server to stop. This is IBM territory, stuff I don't typically work with. But, I would suggest looking at job logs generated when the server stops (there will be more than one, make sure you look at them all to find the right one) and also try using the syntax checking tools, et al, in the IBM HTTP Server Admin.
Presumably, you've got some sort of a syntax error in your configuration that's causing the server to stop. This is IBM territory, stuff I don't typically work with. But, I would suggest looking at job logs generated when the server stops (there will be more than one, make sure you look at them all to find the right one) and also try using the syntax checking tools, et al, in the IBM HTTP Server Admin.
-
- New User
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:04 pm
- First Name: James
- Last Name: Bergeson
- Company Name: InterstateNational
- State / Province: Georgia
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: CORS Error using Universal Display File
Thank you! I will do that.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests