I see that the "subfile return rrn" grid property will return the top visible row of the subfile, and this works correctly for an unfiltered subfile but how do I get it to return the correct top row for a filtered subfile? It does display the correct filtered row as I scroll but doesn't seem to use that value in the SFLRRRN property.
My subfile has the persist state set to "session only" so it keeps the current column filter active when the subfile is redisplayed (i.e. a user has selected a record from the subfile, modified it, and wants to return to the same position in the filtered subfile). The problem is the "subfile return rrn" grid property value is set to the unfiltered rrn when it returns to the program (after the EXFMT stmt).
Grid properties:
subfile record number = SFLRCD
subfile return rrn = SFLRRRN
position at top = true
persist state = session only
RPG:
SFLRCD = SFLRRRN;
EXFMT C01;
Thanks.
Subfile top row for a filtered subfile
-
- New User
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:24 am
- First Name: Michael
- Last Name: Perez
- Company Name: Manhattan Life Insurance
- Contact:
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Subfile top row for a filtered subfile
The "subfile return rrn" property is the Rich Display equivalent of the 5250 SFLSCROLL keyword. The green-screen environment has no knowledge of filtering. Indeed, the filtering is intended to be handled entirely in the web browser so that you don't need to code your own filtering in your application. it is meant to be completely invisible to the back-end program (back-end = the RPG or Node.js program running on the server)mperez wrote:I see that the "subfile return rrn" grid property will return the top visible row of the subfile, and this works correctly for an unfiltered subfile but how do I get it to return the correct top row for a filtered subfile? It does display the correct filtered row as I scroll but doesn't seem to use that value in the SFLRRRN property.
So, we cannot add filtering knowlege to "subfile return rrn" because it would break existing programs that were converted from green-screens or written to work like green-screens.
Maybe I'm not understanding? Why not use "cursor record number" to return the RRN that the user left off on, then use "subfile record number" & "place cursor" to return the user back to the same row?mperez wrote: My subfile has the persist state set to "session only" so it keeps the current column filter active when the subfile is redisplayed (i.e. a user has selected a record from the subfile, modified it, and wants to return to the same position in the filtered subfile). The problem is the "subfile return rrn" grid property value is set to the unfiltered rrn when it returns to the program (after the EXFMT stmt).
Since they can't have the cursor position on a row that's filtered-out, this shouldn't cause the same problem.
-
- New User
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:24 am
- First Name: Michael
- Last Name: Perez
- Company Name: Manhattan Life Insurance
- Contact:
Re: Subfile top row for a filtered subfile
I did switch to use the cursor record number but it too was holding the unfiltered rrn. Since filtering is done on the client side, I added the following to the onclick() event of the selection widget in the grid, which gives me the filtered rrn/row of the selected row in the grid.
hidden bound fld: ROWNO
widget: selection box
onclick event:
rrnRowNum = getObj("S01").grid.getRowNumber(rrn);
changeElementValue('ROWNO', rrnRowNum);
I set ROWNO to SFLRCD in the RPG and the screen redisplays at the same row in the filtered grid. Is it possible to get the top visible row of the grid on the client side, similar to getting the selected row number?
Thanks!
hidden bound fld: ROWNO
widget: selection box
onclick event:
rrnRowNum = getObj("S01").grid.getRowNumber(rrn);
changeElementValue('ROWNO', rrnRowNum);
I set ROWNO to SFLRCD in the RPG and the screen redisplays at the same row in the filtered grid. Is it possible to get the top visible row of the grid on the client side, similar to getting the selected row number?
Thanks!
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Subfile top row for a filtered subfile
Sorry, I've never looked into how to retrieve the top row number.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests