Valid image formats inside image widget
-
- New User
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:48 pm
- First Name: Keith
- Last Name: Hodges
- Company Name: Swift
- State / Province: Florida
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Valid image formats inside image widget
What image formats can successfully be displayed in genie inside an image widget? The documentation says "any valid image format", but while I can get many to work, tif images (which is how we have tens of millions of images stored), don't render. Is tif a valid format for the image widget? If not, is there a workaround other than converting the images?
- Glenn
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 124
- Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:08 pm
- First Name: Glenn
- Last Name: Hopwood
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- State / Province: Ohio
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
Keith,
The issue you are describing is caused by the browser, not the image widget. Our image widget creates a basic <img> HTML element, so when we say "any valid image format" we mean that it supports any image format that the browser will render.
In the case of .tiff images, it appears from the link below that only a few browsers will support them and they apparently require a plugin (Please note that I have not researched the accuracy of the link).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compariso ... at_support
Glenn
The issue you are describing is caused by the browser, not the image widget. Our image widget creates a basic <img> HTML element, so when we say "any valid image format" we mean that it supports any image format that the browser will render.
In the case of .tiff images, it appears from the link below that only a few browsers will support them and they apparently require a plugin (Please note that I have not researched the accuracy of the link).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compariso ... at_support
Glenn
-
- New User
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:48 pm
- First Name: Keith
- Last Name: Hodges
- Company Name: Swift
- State / Province: Florida
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
Oh, you are so right!
Thanks.
Thanks.
- matt.denninghoff
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 115
- Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:53 pm
- First Name: Matthew
- Last Name: Denninghoff
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- State / Province: Ohio
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
If installing a plugin will not work, and if bulk converting the formats is a problem, there is another option if you use PHP on the i. You could write PHP programs to accept some TIFF file name argument, then automatically convert the file to another format, then return the data back to the browser.
There are even open source libraries that might work on the i that automatically generate image thumbnails; e.g. http://phpthumb.sourceforge.net/
You'd need GD and ImageMagick libraries, which support image manipulation. On our development machine, at least, those are available.
There are even open source libraries that might work on the i that automatically generate image thumbnails; e.g. http://phpthumb.sourceforge.net/
You'd need GD and ImageMagick libraries, which support image manipulation. On our development machine, at least, those are available.
-
- New User
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:48 pm
- First Name: Keith
- Last Name: Hodges
- Company Name: Swift
- State / Province: Florida
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
Yes, we'll use ImageMagick to do the job.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
ImageMagick can be easily run from a QShell/PASE command-line. This can be invoked from RPG or CL programs. There's really no need to use PHP for this sort of thing (unless you want to.)
-
- New User
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:34 am
- First Name: Bernd
- Last Name: Seyfried
- Company Name: Segmueller Polstermöbel GmbH
- Contact:
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
Hello Scott,
I want to use ImageMagick with QSHELL. Do you have any advice how to use the QSHELL Command.
I have downloaded the portable Version of ImageMagick. When i call the magick with parameters i receive the follwoing Error-Statements.
magick 2695307_0.tif 2695307_0.jpg
qsh: 001-0019 Fehler gefunden beim Suchen des Befehls magick. Kein Pfad oder keine Bibliothek mit diesem Namen.
$
magick.exe 2695307_0.tif 2695307_0.jpg
/tmp/ImageMagick/magick.exe: 001-0050 Syntaxfehler bei Zeile 1: Token "(" nicht erwartet.
I want to use ImageMagick with QSHELL. Do you have any advice how to use the QSHELL Command.
I have downloaded the portable Version of ImageMagick. When i call the magick with parameters i receive the follwoing Error-Statements.
magick 2695307_0.tif 2695307_0.jpg
qsh: 001-0019 Fehler gefunden beim Suchen des Befehls magick. Kein Pfad oder keine Bibliothek mit diesem Namen.
$
magick.exe 2695307_0.tif 2695307_0.jpg
/tmp/ImageMagick/magick.exe: 001-0050 Syntaxfehler bei Zeile 1: Token "(" nicht erwartet.
-
- New User
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:56 am
- First Name: Kerim
- Last Name: Güney
- Company Name: Task Force IT-Consulting GmbH
- City: Dortmund
- Zip / Postal Code: 44369
- Country: Germany
- Contact:
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
Hey Seyfried,
you cannot simply run .exe files in the QSHELL. .exe files are typically executable binaries for the Windows operating system, you can only run them on Windows or with the help of some compatibility layer like WINE.
You either have to find a prebuilt binary speficially for your operating system or you have to download the source code of ImageMagick and compile the source code and build the executable yourself. But you're in luck, Scott has a prebuilt version of imagemagick that you can download https://www.scottklement.com/imagemagick/.
you cannot simply run .exe files in the QSHELL. .exe files are typically executable binaries for the Windows operating system, you can only run them on Windows or with the help of some compatibility layer like WINE.
You either have to find a prebuilt binary speficially for your operating system or you have to download the source code of ImageMagick and compile the source code and build the executable yourself. But you're in luck, Scott has a prebuilt version of imagemagick that you can download https://www.scottklement.com/imagemagick/.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
I agree with Kerim. You need ImageMagick for IBM i (or AIX, since AIX software can be run under PASE). You can't the Windows version on IBM i.
-
- New User
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:56 am
- First Name: Kerim
- Last Name: Güney
- Company Name: Task Force IT-Consulting GmbH
- City: Dortmund
- Zip / Postal Code: 44369
- Country: Germany
- Contact:
Re: Valid image formats inside image widget
Hello Keith,
I managed to create a custom image widget that can show .tif images. Would you mind uploading some of the ones you have, so that I can test it?
This is necessary because not all .tif images are the same, for example they can use different compression algorithms.
I managed to create a custom image widget that can show .tif images. Would you mind uploading some of the ones you have, so that I can test it?
This is necessary because not all .tif images are the same, for example they can use different compression algorithms.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests