Urgent problem: Error Message in a Grid doesn't work

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
dieter
Experienced User
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 6:45 am
First Name: Dieter
Last Name: Schröder
Company Name: Ecclesia Holding GmbH
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: Germany
Contact:

Urgent problem: Error Message in a Grid doesn't work

Post by dieter »

Hello,

i have an urgent problem. We have the version 4.5.3.

Maybe there is an issue in the grid widget. I have a grid with textboxes. I want to give out an error message in a textbox in the grid, e.g. in the first record of the subfile. So i bound an error message on the textbox field and i also bound an error condition indicator on the textbox field. Then in my RPG program i chain the subfile, fill the error message text and set on the error condition indicator. The i update the subfile record. But at the next exfmt no error message appears. When i do the same on a "normal" field (a non subfile field) is works fine.

When i check on the enhanced mode, i can see via debugger that the indicator is on in the first record directly before the EXFMT.

What shall i do to create an error message on a field in a subfile?

Thanks in anticipation.

Dieter
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Urgent problem: Error Message in a Grid doesn't work

Post by Scott Klement »

What you're describing sounds to me like it should work. Let me see if I can code up an example...

If this issue is truly urgent, please e-mail support@profoundlogic.com and have them create a support ticket. There's more staff available to help you that way.
dieter
Experienced User
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 6:45 am
First Name: Dieter
Last Name: Schröder
Company Name: Ecclesia Holding GmbH
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Urgent problem: Error Message in a Grid doesn't work

Post by dieter »

Hello Scott,

we just found out, that the problem does not appear always. We have a problem in our RPG code, which we can't explain. It might not be a problem in Profound UI. It seems to be that a chain on the subfile destroys our error message. If we comment out this chain it works. But after this chain there is no update! How can a chain without an update can have an effect on our error message?

We just tried out, that the program works if we do an update (without changing fields) after the chain. I think, that we can fix the program. But we have no good explanation for this behavior.

Our Code:
chain 1 sfl1;
errorMsg = 'This is an error.';
errorInd = *on;
update sfl1;

chain 1 sfl1;
update sfl1; // => with this update it works. Without there is nor error message.
exfmt screen1;


Do you have any explanations for this?

Thanks,
Dieter
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Urgent problem: Error Message in a Grid doesn't work

Post by Scott Klement »

READC or CHAIN (or any input operation) will clear the error messages of the subfile. That's the way our 'error messages' feature works -- it turns off errors when you read the subfile, so you don't have to remember to turn them off after you've displayed them.
dieter
Experienced User
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 6:45 am
First Name: Dieter
Last Name: Schröder
Company Name: Ecclesia Holding GmbH
State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Urgent problem: Error Message in a Grid doesn't work

Post by dieter »

Scott,

thank your for your answer. This explains the effect. I will change my program.

Dieter.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests