Page 1 of 1
Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout
Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:44 am
by brett.elston
Hi, within Atrium the user is obviously able to open multiple RDF tabs simultaneously. Within the Profoundui HTTP configuration our activity timeout is set to 3600 seconds. So the situation we find is that although the user may be active within one tab, when they return to another tab later, that specific session has timed-out. I understand it is not good practice to allow users to tie up resources unnecessarily however is there a way to keep these sessions active is the user is still active in a least one panel? Thanks in advance. Brett
Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout
Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:20 am
by Scott Klement
Each tab is a separate session from PUI or Genie's perspective.
Have you considered increasing the timeout? To do that, edit your /www/instance-name/conf/httpd.conf file. Look for these variables:
Code: Select all
SetEnv PUI_TIMEOUT 3600
MaxPersistentCGITimeout 3600
Timeout 3600
These should all be set to the same value -- your new timeout. Perhaps you'd like to make it something like 4 hours -- that's 14400 seconds.
Code: Select all
SetEnv PUI_TIMEOUT 14400
MaxPersistentCGITimeout 14400
Timeout 14400
You will need to restart the HTTP server instance for the changes to take effect.
Code: Select all
STRTCPSVR SERVER(*HTTP) RESTART(*HTTP) HTTPSVR(YOUR-SERVER-NAME)
Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:10 am
by brett.elston
Thank you Scott, I had a feeling this would be the only option. Hope you are feeling better.
Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:31 am
by Scott Klement
Another option might be to turn on keep-alives. These send data every X number of seconds, so as long as the browser is active and the pages (or Atrium tabs) are open, things will stay active.
More info here:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... e+Interval
Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout
Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:25 am
by brett.elston
Thank you Scott, the keep alive looks like exactly what I am after. Am I correct in assuming that if I create a .js, with only this pui command, and save under the Profoundui custom directory, and then link this file under the external file/external js it will run?
Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout
Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:51 am
by Scott Klement
The way I do it is to create a file named /www/profoundui/htdocs/profoundui/userdata/custom/js/settings.js
Then, I put my keep alive setting (and any other special settings I want to set) in that file.
However, if you are running/launching through Genie, you also have to link the settings.js file into your skin's start.html.
Re: Atrium Multiple Tabs and HTTP Timeout
Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:03 am
by brett.elston
Thanks Scott, it worked perfectly.