Where can i place a php script within the profoundui file structure so that it can be parsed as a regular php script? Is this even possible using the profoundui in it's latest release out of the box?
My issue is that I am submitting a form via ajax but given the limitation of cross domain (ports, etc) communication I am having some errors. My php script is going to create a file within the profoundui file structure.
Thanks for the speedy reply.
profoundui and php scripts
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:43 am
- First Name: Orin
- Last Name: Parris
- Company Name: Banks DIH Limited
- Country: Guyana
- Contact:
- David
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 690
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
- First Name: David
- Last Name: Russo
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: profoundui and php scripts
An easy way to run PHP scripts under Profound UI's http server is to setup the http server as a reverse proxy for your ZENDCORE or ZENDSVR http server.
Our installer can set this up for you (under the Customize) options, but if you didn't do that during installation, you can add these lines to your "httpd.conf":
Just fill in the appropriate port number.
There are some LoadModule directives required for the above, but if you are running a fairly recent version of Profound UI, these should already be in the configuration, regardless of how it was installed.
You'll then need to end/restart the http server to make this effective. After that is done, you can launch PHP scripts with paths lke this:
Where "/yourpath" is the path within the document root of your Zend Core or Zend Server http server.
Apache will fetch the content on the backend, so the browser will see the path as being on the same http server, and you can then make Ajax calls with no problem.
Our installer can set this up for you (under the Customize) options, but if you didn't do that during installation, you can add these lines to your "httpd.conf":
Code: Select all
ProxyPass /php/ http://127.0.0.1:PORT/
ProxyPassReverse /php/ http://127.0.0.1:PORT/
There are some LoadModule directives required for the above, but if you are running a fairly recent version of Profound UI, these should already be in the configuration, regardless of how it was installed.
You'll then need to end/restart the http server to make this effective. After that is done, you can launch PHP scripts with paths lke this:
Code: Select all
/php/yourpath/yourscript.php
Apache will fetch the content on the backend, so the browser will see the path as being on the same http server, and you can then make Ajax calls with no problem.
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:43 am
- First Name: Orin
- Last Name: Parris
- Company Name: Banks DIH Limited
- Country: Guyana
- Contact:
Re: profoundui and php scripts
thanks for the reply David,
I have looked at my "httpd.conf" file in my profoundui installation and those lines are already added with the port that my zendsvr is listening on.
and I understand that my script should be placed in my zendsvr's document root. Do I need to place the file into a folder within my zendsvr document root?
Or can i just place it at the document root level?
Also how do i call the script? what should be the URL?
I have looked at my "httpd.conf" file in my profoundui installation and those lines are already added with the port that my zendsvr is listening on.
and I understand that my script should be placed in my zendsvr's document root. Do I need to place the file into a folder within my zendsvr document root?
Or can i just place it at the document root level?
Also how do i call the script? what should be the URL?
- David
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 690
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
- First Name: David
- Last Name: Russo
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: profoundui and php scripts
You can put the script in /www/zendsvr/htdocs, or any sub-directory. Then give the path after /php as the directory structure within htdocs.
For example file "my.php" in /www/zendsvr/hdtocs:
/php/my.php
For example file "my.php" in /www/zendsvr/htdocs/mydir:
/php/mydir/my.php
For example file "my.php" in /www/zendsvr/hdtocs:
/php/my.php
For example file "my.php" in /www/zendsvr/htdocs/mydir:
/php/mydir/my.php
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:43 am
- First Name: Orin
- Last Name: Parris
- Company Name: Banks DIH Limited
- Country: Guyana
- Contact:
Re: profoundui and php scripts
so the URL used to call or point to the script within/using profoundui is "<server ip>:<profound_port>/php/my.php" or "<server ip>:<profound_port>/profoundui/php/my.php"?
(with the script inside of /www/zendsvr/htdocs)
(with the script inside of /www/zendsvr/htdocs)
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:43 am
- First Name: Orin
- Last Name: Parris
- Company Name: Banks DIH Limited
- Country: Guyana
- Contact:
Re: profoundui and php scripts
Thanks David,
I tried what you suggested and it worked. I realized what the URL would be. Thanks again. Cheers
I tried what you suggested and it worked. I realized what the URL would be. Thanks again. Cheers
- David
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 690
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
- First Name: David
- Last Name: Russo
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: profoundui and php scripts
Glad that helped! If you are calling the script from your browser directly to test it, you can use:
http:<server>:<profoundui port>/php/my.php
From your PUI apps, though, you would want to use:
/php/my.php
When run from the PUI page like that, the browser assumes the same http server, so specifying it is not necessary, and in most cases is actualy undesirable, as it's then hard coded into the link, and then may not do what you want if you run the same app on a different http server.
http:<server>:<profoundui port>/php/my.php
From your PUI apps, though, you would want to use:
/php/my.php
When run from the PUI page like that, the browser assumes the same http server, so specifying it is not necessary, and in most cases is actualy undesirable, as it's then hard coded into the link, and then may not do what you want if you run the same app on a different http server.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest