Multiple Formats

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
mpilo0
Profound User
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:49 am
First Name: Michael
Last Name: Pilote
Company Name: Oceanex
Phone: (514) 875-8558
State / Province: Quebec
Country: Canada
Contact:

Multiple Formats

Post by mpilo0 »

Hi, I don't know if this is an issue of me doing something wrong with profound or me coding it wrong in RPG so ill try to be as descriptive as i can.

Basically im trying to write a window that will be setup over the screen. The window would look something like this.
Window.png
Window.png (28.61 KiB) Viewed 1092 times
In this window at the very top there is a hidden subfile which we use to display error messages. It is just a regular subfile.
Everything above the black seperator line part of Record Format A1. Everything below the black line is part of format A2. I overlayed both of these record formats on another record format called W1. This record format is set to display as a window and it has no fields in it.
The reson behind this is that we are not writing the same format depending on the type of object being displayed. So i have 2 Record formats with information that have to be returned to my program. All of my controls including the back button are in my A1 Record format (A2 overlays A1 in the middle of it)

Code: Select all

          Write UT1155PUI.W1P W1_Out; 
           A1_Out.S9_SflDsp = (S9_RRN > 0);
           A1_Out.S9_SflDspCtlRcd = *On;
           A1_Out.S9_SflClear = *Off;  
           
           Write UT1155PUI.A2 A2_Out;
           Write UT1155PUI.A1 A1_Out;

           Read UT1155PUI.A1 A1_In;
           Read UT1155PUI.A2 A2_Out;     
I've managed to get things to display by writing the code above, but i cant interact with the screen in any way. The back button isn't working, my refresh or back button in the header at the top aren't working. The only things that work are my Fkeys. However, i am able to interact the fields in A2. Anything in A1 is out of my reach though. I've tried changing the order of my read and write to see if that would help in any way, but then, even my FKeys dont work (i'm guessing this is due to the fact that the fkeys are only declared in A1?). I'm at a total loss as how to do this here. Please help!
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: Multiple Formats

Post by Scott Klement »

Is it possible that you have an invisible element (such as a simple layout or something like that) displayed on top of the elements that you can't interact with?

Or, perhaps you did not set up the overlay properties on the formats? (A1 and A2 need to be set up to overlay W1) Or something like that?
mpilo0
Profound User
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:49 am
First Name: Michael
Last Name: Pilote
Company Name: Oceanex
Phone: (514) 875-8558
State / Province: Quebec
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Multiple Formats

Post by mpilo0 »

Hi Scott,

Both records have Overlay set to true. I dont have anything above the layout in the designer, however when i inspect the DOM there is an element that overlays everything. That element is my Main_Layout which is defined only once in the Designer. It is making 2 elements with the same ID that are positionned 1 over the other. I basically have 1 instance of Main_Layout that is empty and the other that contains all my fields. I've also noticed that the fields that i could interact with are those that have z-indexes that are set a bit higher.
User avatar
matt.denninghoff
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:53 pm
First Name: Matthew
Last Name: Denninghoff
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
State / Province: Ohio
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Multiple Formats

Post by matt.denninghoff »

Did you create two layouts, both with the ID, Main_Layout? Or is there just one, but it appears twice for some reason?
mpilo0
Profound User
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:49 am
First Name: Michael
Last Name: Pilote
Company Name: Oceanex
Phone: (514) 875-8558
State / Province: Quebec
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Multiple Formats

Post by mpilo0 »

Hey Matt, I Created only one Layout Main_Layout. I dont understand why it is there twice though. I checked all my record formats and throughout all of them i have only once main_Layout. I can send you a screen dump and a text file of my screen if you wish?
User avatar
matt.denninghoff
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:53 pm
First Name: Matthew
Last Name: Denninghoff
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
State / Province: Ohio
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Multiple Formats

Post by matt.denninghoff »

Yes, I think a screen dump would help. Could you email it to support at profoundlogic dot com?
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests