I have a couple radio buttons on a tab. There are bound to the same group variable They don't show up on the tab. If I unbind them from the group variable or move them off the tab they show up.
Any ideas?
ON another screen I have a radiio button group on a tab but it is inside a subfile grid. These show up fine.
Radio Button Group not showing in tab
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:34 pm
- First Name: Dennis
- Last Name: Willett
- Company Name: Toledo CLinic
- Contact:
Radio Button Group not showing in tab
Last edited by dennisw on Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Radio Buton Group not showing in tab
When you say "on a tab", do you mean a tab panel?
Do you have anything set differently for the 'visibility' property of these radio buttons? This sometimes causes issues on a tab panel.
Do you have anything set differently for the 'visibility' property of these radio buttons? This sometimes causes issues on a tab panel.
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:34 pm
- First Name: Dennis
- Last Name: Willett
- Company Name: Toledo CLinic
- Contact:
Re: Radio Buton Group not showing in tab
Yes, a tab panel.
I do have visibility indicator.
I found when I put the buttons in a simple conatiner they work fine.
What it didn't seem to like was the group variable on the buttons.
I do have visibility indicator.
I found when I put the buttons in a simple conatiner they work fine.
What it didn't seem to like was the group variable on the buttons.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Radio Button Group not showing in tab
Dennis,
To explain a bit... a "tab panel" is not a native HTML object. The way our widget works is it draws something that looks like a tab panel (using other HTML tags) and then when you switch tabs it goes through all of the widgets and changes their visibility property. So if you click on tab 1, it loops through all widgets on all other tabs (2, 3, 4, etc... all but 1) and sets their visibility to "hidden". When you click on tab 2, it loops through all widgets on tab 1, 3, 4, etc and sets them to hidden, and it sets the stuff on tab 2 to visible. That's how it's able to act like a tab panel.
The trouble occurs when you control the visibility property in your program. When that happens it has a conflict. Even though it finds your widget on a tab, it can't set it to "hidden" or "visible" because you're already controlling that property in your program. So, this way, it's possible for stuff to show up when you are showing the wrong tab, etc.
The easy workaround, as you've already discovered, is to put a layout in the tab panel (simple container layout is a good choice, since it's invisible.) In this case, the tab sees the layout as the widget inside of it (rather than the widgets that are inside the layout), so it will mark the layout hidden or visible. Since hiding a widget hides everything inside of it, this causes tab switching to work fine. And, since the individual widgets visibility can still be controlled by your program, it offers the best of both worlds.
For that reason, I think that the problem you encoutnered was probably with the visibility property rather than the group field. (At least, that would make sense, and fit the symptoms -- I can't think of any reason a grouping field would affect whether your radio buttons are displayed or not.)
To explain a bit... a "tab panel" is not a native HTML object. The way our widget works is it draws something that looks like a tab panel (using other HTML tags) and then when you switch tabs it goes through all of the widgets and changes their visibility property. So if you click on tab 1, it loops through all widgets on all other tabs (2, 3, 4, etc... all but 1) and sets their visibility to "hidden". When you click on tab 2, it loops through all widgets on tab 1, 3, 4, etc and sets them to hidden, and it sets the stuff on tab 2 to visible. That's how it's able to act like a tab panel.
The trouble occurs when you control the visibility property in your program. When that happens it has a conflict. Even though it finds your widget on a tab, it can't set it to "hidden" or "visible" because you're already controlling that property in your program. So, this way, it's possible for stuff to show up when you are showing the wrong tab, etc.
The easy workaround, as you've already discovered, is to put a layout in the tab panel (simple container layout is a good choice, since it's invisible.) In this case, the tab sees the layout as the widget inside of it (rather than the widgets that are inside the layout), so it will mark the layout hidden or visible. Since hiding a widget hides everything inside of it, this causes tab switching to work fine. And, since the individual widgets visibility can still be controlled by your program, it offers the best of both worlds.
For that reason, I think that the problem you encoutnered was probably with the visibility property rather than the group field. (At least, that would make sense, and fit the symptoms -- I can't think of any reason a grouping field would affect whether your radio buttons are displayed or not.)
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests