F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Genie users.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by Scott Klement »

It's my opinion that #1 is the most intuitive choice.
khoreis
New User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 5:02 pm
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Horeis
Company Name: Old World Industries
Phone: 847 559-2026
Contact:

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by khoreis »

So how do I do this? I have not had training yet.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by Scott Klement »

If you'd like to do it yourself, I think you can do it with just one line of code. I did not test this thoroughly, so you'll have to test it. but, edit your 'custom.js' file. (You can do this in the Genie Administrator if you like, or you have navigate to the /www/profoundui/htdocs/profoundui/userdata/genie skins/poc directory of the IFS and edit it with your favorite text editor.)

Go to somewhere around line 205 of this file, you'll find the routine where it creates the side menu. Just add a line that skips fields in a window format.... you can do that by lookng for a "W" in the field ID (field IDs for a window end with W1, W2, etc, based on how many overlapping windows are on the screen). If you see a W in the window ID, just skip converting that to the side menu.

Here's a screenshot of the code, with the extra line added. If you add the circled line to your custom.js, it should work for you, too.
linkmenu3.png
linkmenu3.png (26.78 KiB) Viewed 2503 times
But, again, I did not test this thoroughly.

Otherwise, if you don't want to modify it yourself, you can contact our tech support (support@profoundlogic.com) and they will give you a hand.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by Scott Klement »

Ahh, one Caveat to that code... if you have a window where the window border is on column 1 or 80/132 (whichever is the last column of your screen) the system will not distinguish between a window and a non-window. This is just the way the OS works... no idea why. In that case, there's really no way to distinguish between window function keys and non-window function keys... not much we can do (at least, not while still using a 5250 screen refacer like Genie.) Having said that, it's been my experience that it's pretty rare to have a window like that (usually you use a window because you don't want it to take up much of the screen).
khoreis
New User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 5:02 pm
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Horeis
Company Name: Old World Industries
Phone: 847 559-2026
Contact:

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by khoreis »

POC.rtf
(1.23 MiB) Downloaded 258 times
I applied the code... No change.

How do you imbed your image?
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by Scott Klement »

Hi Kevin,

Perhaps the old version of custom.js is loaded in your browser's cache? Try clearing the cache or clicking the 'refresh' button on the Genie design toolbar to force it to reload this file.

To post an image inline:
  1. Capture the image in either .JPG or .PNG format. (not RTF.. that's not an image format, it's a word processing format)
  2. Below the message editor, click the "Upload attachment" tab.
  3. Click "browse" and locate your JPG/PNG format on your hard drive. Select it, and then click "Add the file"
  4. After "Add the file" has uploaded the image, you'll have a "Posted Attachments" box beneath the forum message editor showing your file.
  5. Move the cursor to the spot where you want to the image to go, and then click the 'Place inline' button in the Posted Attachments box. This will add some codes that instruct the forum to place the image in the appropriate place. (You'll see these codes in the editor.)
  6. Finish your message and submit it. It should display the image in the proper place.
khoreis
New User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 5:02 pm
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Horeis
Company Name: Old World Industries
Phone: 847 559-2026
Contact:

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by khoreis »

I don't what I did, but I launched the skin from Administrator and did a refresh and now I don't get even a login. Just a blue ribbon and nothing else.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by Scott Klement »

Sounds like maybe you introduced a syntax error into the JavaScript. (But I don't see anything wrong in your screenshot?) This is just a guess, though.

The thing to do here is use the console in your web browser to see what the error is, and from that, figure out how to fix the error. The location of the console will be different depending on which browser you are using.

Firefox, click Web Developer / Web Console.
in IE, click the settings icon (looks like a gear) and then F12 Developer Tools / Console
in Chrome click the menu icon (looks like 3 horizontal bars), then Tools / JavaScript Console

I tried to connect to your system using the VPN settings from when we did the Proof of Concept for you, but it appears the userid/password from that are no longer active.

If this is too difficult, unfamiliar, etc, please contact our technical support, we'd be happy to assist.
khoreis
New User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 5:02 pm
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Horeis
Company Name: Old World Industries
Phone: 847 559-2026
Contact:

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by khoreis »

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot call method 'toLowerCase' of undefined custom.js:222
hybridSkin.createSideMenu custom.js:222
pui.genie.afterInit custom.js:52
kb genie.js:21
genie genie.js:410
pui.Bh genie.js:1431
Sd.handler genie.js:1423
Sd.c.onsuccess genie.js:457
f genie.js:450


I didn't change anything, except add the code you suggested. I compared it to the line in Hybrid and they are the same.

hybridSkin.createSideMenu = function() {
var inputs = document.getElementById("5250").getElementsByTagName("input");
var buttons = [];
var dups = {};
var gotEnter = false;
for (var i = 0; i < inputs.length; i++) {
var input = inputs;
if (input.type != "button" || input.fkey == null) continue;
if (input.id.indexOf("W") != -1) continue;

input.style.visibility = "hidden";
if (dups[input.value] == true) continue;
buttons.push({
fkey: input.fkey,
text: input.value
});
dups[input.value] = true;
if (input.fkey.toLowerCase() == "enter") gotEnter = true;
}
khoreis
New User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 5:02 pm
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Horeis
Company Name: Old World Industries
Phone: 847 559-2026
Contact:

Re: F-Keys on 5250 Windows

Post by khoreis »

We re-enabled the login
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests