Recover the value of a field

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Genie users.
Post Reply
kaw
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:16 pm
First Name: Djibril
Last Name: SOW
Company Name: union5
Contact:

Recover the value of a field

Post by kaw »

I want to retrieve the value of a field of my screen to put in my url: http://ipadress?p='fieldvalue'.
What should I do?
User avatar
Alex
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
First Name: Alex
Last Name: Roytman
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Recover the value of a field

Post by Alex »

The get() API should do the trick. See here:

http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... %28+id+%29

Code: Select all

var url = "http://ipaddress?p=" + get("MyFieldId");
FoxBill
Profound User
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:44 am
First Name: Bill
Last Name: Streit
Company Name: Fox Metro WRD
Contact:

Re: Recover the value of a field

Post by FoxBill »

I have a similar question. I can get a value if it is an input or display with a set field location.
My problem is how do I get value of field in a grid when I click on the row.
I know how to determine the row number but I have a problem when I try to get a value from a specific colum and row in the grid. So my Question is how do i determine the Id of that location?
User avatar
Alex
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
First Name: Alex
Last Name: Roytman
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Recover the value of a field

Post by Alex »

You will need to use the getCellValue() method, described here:

http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... 2C+col+%29
FoxBill
Profound User
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:44 am
First Name: Bill
Last Name: Streit
Company Name: Fox Metro WRD
Contact:

Re: Recover the value of a field

Post by FoxBill »

This works fine when the number of rows is small. I am linking my grid to a database file and and I have over 100 records in the file. To be able to get cell value, the grid on the screen has to show all the records. If I have fewer rows than records, when I scrow down and click on a record it sends me a null value. I have two field values I am trying to retrieve when I click on a row so a drop down box does not work. Is there a way to get a value with out making the number of rows in the grid larger than the available records?
User avatar
Alex
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
First Name: Alex
Last Name: Roytman
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Recover the value of a field

Post by Alex »

In our next update, we will be publishing an update to the .getCellValue() API that will resolve this issue.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest