Hi,
I have a data-base driven drop-down that lists employees based on the userid in our employee master file. I would like to add 2 more userids to the list that are NOT in the employee master file. I know I can accomplish by creating a view, or using a "program field" to build the choices and values. I was wondering if there is any way to code some sort of implied "union" with the data-base driven selection parameters? ie. show me all userids in the employee master file plus add "useridabc" and "useridjlk" to the list.
Thank you,
Patti
Add choice options to database driven drop down?
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 76
- Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:11 pm
- First Name: Sean
- Last Name: Tyree
- Company Name: US HealthWorks
- State / Province: California
- Zip / Postal Code: 91355
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Add choice options to database driven drop down?
Hi Patti,
I haven't tried this inside of a drop-down widget, but here is an SQL statement that would provide the results you are looking for:
SELECT USERID FROM USERS union
values 'useridabc' union
values 'useridjlk'
Sean
I haven't tried this inside of a drop-down widget, but here is an SQL statement that would provide the results you are looking for:
SELECT USERID FROM USERS union
values 'useridabc' union
values 'useridjlk'
Sean
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Add choice options to database driven drop down?
Hi Sean,
Yes, I could create a view that does what you suggest. However, I was hoping to incorporate using the widget properties instead.
Thank you...
Patti
Yes, I could create a view that does what you suggest. However, I was hoping to incorporate using the widget properties instead.
Thank you...
Patti
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 76
- Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:11 pm
- First Name: Sean
- Last Name: Tyree
- Company Name: US HealthWorks
- State / Province: California
- Zip / Postal Code: 91355
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Add choice options to database driven drop down?
Patti,
Another option would be to use a Universal Display File as the source for the drop-down data.
There is an example of this in the documentation:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... splay+File
Sean
Another option would be to use a Universal Display File as the source for the drop-down data.
There is an example of this in the documentation:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... splay+File
Sean
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Add choice options to database driven drop down?
Thanks Sean. I will read through the documentation.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests