Put elements in Genie's page header.

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
vijo
Profound User
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 4:47 pm
First Name: Vincent
Last Name: Jonis
Company Name: oo2
Contact:

Put elements in Genie's page header.

Post by vijo »

Hi,
Context: Rich display files in a Genie Session
I'm looking for a convenient way to display elements (titles or whatever) In Genie's header for example something like this:
Genie_header1.png
Genie_header1.png (10.71 KiB) Viewed 416 times
I know it is possible to set top: to a negative value, this does the trick but the elements are not visible anymore in Visual Designer.

Any suggestion for a more user-friendly way to achieve this ?

Thanks.
User avatar
Megan
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:15 pm
First Name: Megan
Last Name: Bond
Company Name: Profound Logic
Phone: 5623227473
State / Province: California
Zip / Postal Code: 92692
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Put elements in Genie's page header.

Post by Megan »

Hello vijo,

Thank you for writing in! There are a variety of ways to handle this! In the below image you can see that in the Visual Designer, you can use the Elements tab to select off-screen elements and change values or change it's position so that it's back in view for you to work with.
OffScreenElements.png
OffScreenElements.png (11.14 KiB) Viewed 408 times
Another alternative would be to use custom CSS class, which you can add to the CSS file of your Genie skin, that sets the top property to the negative value so that when displayed in Genie, using that particular skin, the element will be positioned at the new top defined in that class. Example code:

Code: Select all

.genie-moved-it {
    top: -50px !important;
}
I added this to Hybrid.css using Genie Admin. The !important keyword is necessary in order to override the in-line positioning of the element. I would then add genie-moved-it to the css class property of the element I want to be moved when using the Hybrid Genie skin. This solution requires that this code be added to the CSS file of all skins you want this to happen in. The Visual Designer does not automatically pull in a Genie skin's CSS file, which is why this class won't apply while in the Visual Designer.

Additionally, JavaScript can be used to move the element by adding code to the onload event of the screen. Below is my example code:

Code: Select all

var movit = getObj("btn");
movit.style.top = "-50px";
console.log("I moved it.");
This, of course would have to be done for each object you would like to be moved.

I hope this helps! If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know!
~MEGAN BOND
Technical Support Specialist
support@profoundlogic.com
vijo
Profound User
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 4:47 pm
First Name: Vincent
Last Name: Jonis
Company Name: oo2
Contact:

Re: Put elements in Genie's page header.

Post by vijo »

Very helpful

Thank you
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests