Disable Hidden Links
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Disable Hidden Links
I have a hidden link to support the use of a function key. However, under certain conditions, the use of that function key should not be allowed. I would prefer that the function key simply be ignored and I thought I could accomplish that by simply disabling the link to which the function key shortcut is assigned.
I just tested that, though, and it is not working -- i.e., it still allows the associated response indicator to be sent to the RPG program when the function key is pressed. I'm passing the word 'true' or 'false' in the indicator variable assigned to the "disabled" property for the link. Seems to me that should work -- but it doesn't. Help?
I just tested that, though, and it is not working -- i.e., it still allows the associated response indicator to be sent to the RPG program when the function key is pressed. I'm passing the word 'true' or 'false' in the indicator variable assigned to the "disabled" property for the link. Seems to me that should work -- but it doesn't. Help?
- Brian
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 286
- Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:23 am
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: May
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
Hi Dave,
I am assuming you are setting this property in the RPG program? If so, you wouldn't pass in "true" or "false" as literals. You would just set the indicator equal to *ON or *OFF in your program. If you need more assistance, please don't hesitate to ask.
I am assuming you are setting this property in the RPG program? If so, you wouldn't pass in "true" or "false" as literals. You would just set the indicator equal to *ON or *OFF in your program. If you need more assistance, please don't hesitate to ask.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
Bonkers! Why is the "visibility" property handled differently from the "disabled" property in terms of how it is bound to an RPG variable? Aaarrrggghhh!!! ;-)
- Brian
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 286
- Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:23 am
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: May
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
It is not. You would bind an indicator to to the visibility property and turn it *On or *Off in the same manner.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
Well, the Profound designer disagrees with you. There are two different dialogs that are displayed for the two different properties. The dialog for the "visibility" property allows you to specify what the content of the indicator will be. The dialog for the "disabled" property does not. But, both dialogs state that the binding is for an "indicator."
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Disable Hidden Links
I'm confused. How do you put 'true' or 'false' into an indicator variable? Aren't indicator variables limited to one byte?
I agree with you that 'visibility' is a little different. In visibility, you need to make the indicator represent the words 'visible' or 'hidden'. You adjust the formatting so that *ON is either visible or hidden, and *OFF is either visible or hidden, depending on how you set up the formatting.
I agree with you that 'visibility' is a little different. In visibility, you need to make the indicator represent the words 'visible' or 'hidden'. You adjust the formatting so that *ON is either visible or hidden, and *OFF is either visible or hidden, depending on how you set up the formatting.
- Alex
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 233
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
- First Name: Alex
- Last Name: Roytman
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
The disabled property is based on the HTML attribute "disabled" and can only be true or false, controlled by an RPG indicator which is set to *On or *Off respectively.
The visibility property is based on the CSS property "visibility", and can potentially have more options:
visible
hidden
collapse
inherit
That's why the binding dialog has more options. But the most common options are visible and hidden (the others are barely used). So the default settings in the dialog just allow you to use an RPG indicator with *On or *Off, just as you would with the disabled property.
The visibility property is based on the CSS property "visibility", and can potentially have more options:
visible
hidden
collapse
inherit
That's why the binding dialog has more options. But the most common options are visible and hidden (the others are barely used). So the default settings in the dialog just allow you to use an RPG indicator with *On or *Off, just as you would with the disabled property.
- Brian
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 286
- Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:23 am
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: May
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
True the dialogs are different. However, if you use the Indicator data type on the Visibility property, you would set that indicator to *On or *Off, just like the Disabled property. The indicator format option tells the PUI runtime what to translate the *On or *Off into.
Now, if you choose to define your datatype for the Visibility property as Character, then yes you would pass the literals of visible/hidden to the screen. Does that make more sense?
Now, if you choose to define your datatype for the Visibility property as Character, then yes you would pass the literals of visible/hidden to the screen. Does that make more sense?
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
Yeah, I'm confused, too. ;-) I guess this code in my RPG program is just plumb wrong!Scott Klement wrote:I'm confused.
Code: Select all
if (pRunMode <> 'MAINT'); // if not running in maintenance mode
maint_vis = 'hidden'; // remove maintenance column
insert_dis = *on; // disable insert link
else; // else
maint_vis = 'visible'; // leave maintenance column
insert_dis = *off; // enable insert link
endif;
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:40 am
- First Name: Dave
- Last Name: Clark
- Company Name: WinWholesale, Inc.
- Phone: 937-294-5331
- Address 1: 31101 Kettering Blvd.
- City: Dayton
- State / Province: Outside Canada/USA
- Zip / Postal Code: 45439
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Disable Hidden Links
I'm clear now. And, long story short, disabling the link (correctly) results in preventing the function key from being recognized. Thanks.Brian wrote:True the dialogs are different. However, if you use the Indicator data type on the Visibility property, you would set that indicator to *On or *Off, just like the Disabled property. The indicator format option tells the PUI runtime what to translate the *On or *Off into.
Now, if you choose to define your datatype for the Visibility property as Character, then yes you would pass the literals of visible/hidden to the screen. Does that make more sense?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests