DYMO labels web service

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by Scott Klement »

Oops, the forum software won't let me upload the HTML file as an attachment. I guess its a security restriction that you can't attach html to a message.

The labelFrame.html file is very simple, though. You can just copy/paste it from here:

Code: Select all

<html>
    <head>
        <script src="/dymo/DYMO.Label.Framework.3.0.js"></script>
    </head>
    <body onload="window.parent.sylacauga.frameLoaded(dymo)">Loading Dymo Software...</body>    
</html>
dpkenny
Profound User
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:18 pm
First Name: Kenny
Last Name: K
Company Name: slyacauga utilities board
Phone: 256 401 2501
State / Province: Alabama
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by dpkenny »

Scott,
I really appreciate you taking the time to help.
I implemented your IFRAM suggestion with the exact SAME results.

A little more info from debug:
window.localStorage is not returning ServiceHost or ServicePort like it should.

function Sd(){var a=Qd();return a?{Port:a.ServicePort,Host:a.ServiceHost}:Nd()?{Port:Pd("ServicePort"),Host:Pd("ServiceHost")}:{Port:window.f,Host:window.c}}

This is the Qd stmt imbedded in the above stmt
Qd function Qd(){return"undefined"!==typeof window.localStorage&&window.localStorage?window.localStorage:null}

Returned when run from Profound screen, now Iframe
window.localStorage [object Storage]
__proto__ [object StoragePrototype]
pui-grid-UBALIB-UBA000FM-UBA000S1 {"sort":{"columnId":1,"descending":false},"cols":"51,80,187,187,80,80,80,76,76,76,76,60,33,85,70,0,0,0,0,5"}
pui-is-mouse-capable true

Returned when run outside of profound.
window.localStorage [object Storage]
__proto__ [object StoragePrototype]
ServiceHost 127.0.0.1
ServicePort 41951
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by Scott Klement »

Sorry, Kenny! I really thought that would work. You'd probably need to move more of the logic into the iframe and out of the main panel. Unfortunately, there's only so much that I can do since I can't run or test anything.

I'm not understanding your reference to localStorage. If you're not familiar with localSTorage, it works a little bit like a keyed database, you look things up based on a key. So if you look up localStorage.getItem("X") it returns the data stored under X. You seem to be saying that localStorage.getItem("ServicePort") is returning PUI informaton, which doesn't make sense, we don't store anything under the key "ServicePort". Your dump shows that localStorage has items under the keys "pui-grid-UBALIB-UBA00FM-UBA000A1" and "pui-is-mouse-capable". But those are different keys from "ServiceHost" and "ServicePort" so I don't understand what they have to do with one another. They should be able to co-exist without any problems since they're completely different keys.

localStorage also separates data based on the document's origin. So data for ServerA would not be visible from ServerB, for example. Hard to say how that applies, here... but maybe? I just don't know enough about this Dymo software. But, maybe that'll help you get going in the right direction.
dpkenny
Profound User
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:18 pm
First Name: Kenny
Last Name: K
Company Name: slyacauga utilities board
Phone: 256 401 2501
State / Province: Alabama
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by dpkenny »

I give up!
Scott, If you want to pursue this, you should be able to test the Dymo web service without a printer. Just download and install the label writer software from Dymo, this will also install the web service. Then do "dymo.label.framework.checkEnvironment();" to see if you can talk to the web service. This URL shows how this works. http://labelwriter.com/software/dls/sdk ... nment.html
It should return:
isBrowserSupported: true
isFrameworkInstalled: true
isWebServicePresent: true
And it does when run from a separate tab in EDGE browser but not when run from a rich display screen even when using a iFrame.

If anybody gets this to work, please respond even if has been a while.
dpkenny
Profound User
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:18 pm
First Name: Kenny
Last Name: K
Company Name: slyacauga utilities board
Phone: 256 401 2501
State / Province: Alabama
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by dpkenny »

http://labelwriter.com/software/dls/sdk ... nment.html

Does not even work when run as a tab from Atrium (see screen shot)
Works fine when run as a separate tab from Edge (see screen shot)

????
Attachments
DymoScreenShotGood.PNG
DymoScreenShotGood.PNG (138.24 KiB) Viewed 95905 times
DymoScreenShotBad.PNG
DymoScreenShotBad.PNG (164.76 KiB) Viewed 95905 times
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by Scott Klement »

That's weird. Why would it matter whether it's in Atrium?
dpkenny
Profound User
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:18 pm
First Name: Kenny
Last Name: K
Company Name: slyacauga utilities board
Phone: 256 401 2501
State / Province: Alabama
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by dpkenny »

I think it has something to do with "local storage" not coming up with 127.0.0.1 and port 41951, ServicePort and ServiceHost keys.
This is way above my pay grade!
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by Scott Klement »

What has put this into local storage? Why would it work differently in Atrium?
dpkenny
Profound User
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:18 pm
First Name: Kenny
Last Name: K
Company Name: slyacauga utilities board
Phone: 256 401 2501
State / Province: Alabama
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by dpkenny »

Looks like this a problem with the EDGE browser. I installed the Firefox browser and it works fine!

I have no idea how the host/port gets put in local storage, but it is there in Firefox but not in EDGE.
Company policy is to stop using IE and start using EDGE.
Any ideas to look at on the EDGE browser settings?
Attachments
DymoLocalStorage.JPG
DymoLocalStorage.JPG (36.62 KiB) Viewed 95897 times
dpkenny
Profound User
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:18 pm
First Name: Kenny
Last Name: K
Company Name: slyacauga utilities board
Phone: 256 401 2501
State / Province: Alabama
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: DYMO labels web service

Post by dpkenny »

Scott,
I have no idea why it works differently in Atrium but it definitely does. (with the EDGE browser, Firefox works fine)
Kenny
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests