Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Program
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Program
I have an rpg pgm that is called by a program running in Profound. It displays a popup window over a portion of the existing screen. I moved the code to a service program (for others to use) and modified the background program to call the procedure from the service program. The popup window is displayed but the grid data is blank. I ran the program in debug. I can see the records being written to the sfl (grid). The row fields contain the correct data. The rrn is correct. However when the format is written to the screen, your cannot see any data. I don't understand why running the same logic/display file using the service program would produce different results. Can anyone help me troubleshoot this strange situation?
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
Hmmm... interesting.
The service program will work differently than having all of the code in a single program for the simple reason that the service program has it's own F-spec, and will therefore have a separate instance of the display file. However, assuming you have it set up to overlay one display with the other, this should work fine. (From your description, it doesn't sound like overlaying is the problem.)
To help you further, I think I'm going to need to know how to reproduce the problem. Is your service program simple enough that you could post it here, and I could try it out? Or does it rely heavily on your environment (with your database files, etc.)?
The service program will work differently than having all of the code in a single program for the simple reason that the service program has it's own F-spec, and will therefore have a separate instance of the display file. However, assuming you have it set up to overlay one display with the other, this should work fine. (From your description, it doesn't sound like overlaying is the problem.)
To help you further, I think I'm going to need to know how to reproduce the problem. Is your service program simple enough that you could post it here, and I could try it out? Or does it rely heavily on your environment (with your database files, etc.)?
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
Hi Scott,
Yes, I have both overlay and assume in my display file. I am enclosing the source for the program and the display file. I am also enclosing screen shots so you can see what I am getting. Thank you, Patti
It looks like I can only add 3 attachments. I will add the other 2 on a subsequent post.
Yes, I have both overlay and assume in my display file. I am enclosing the source for the program and the display file. I am also enclosing screen shots so you can see what I am getting. Thank you, Patti
It looks like I can only add 3 attachments. I will add the other 2 on a subsequent post.
- Attachments
-
- Profounddspf.pdf
- (8.72 KiB) Downloaded 63 times
-
- HRTOOLPBcpysrc2.pdf
- (5.75 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
-
- HRTOOLPB.pdf
- (8.92 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
Here are the other 2 attachments.
- Attachments
-
- HRTOOLPBcpysrc1.pdf
- (5.67 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
-
- screenshots.docx
- (819.18 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
Hi Patti,
Unfortunately, I don't know of any easy way to get data from these PDF files back into a source member so I can load/run the code.
Is there any chance you could send the code as plain text files instead of PDF documents? That would save me a ton of time. (Otherwise, I'll essentially have to print out the PDF documents and re-type everything.)
One way to do that is to connect with FTP, and retrieve the source members in ASCII format. For example:
Another way, would be to load the members into RDi and copy/paste them from there into a Notepad document. SAve the Notepad document, and upload that. Repeat that process for each member.
Thanks!
Unfortunately, I don't know of any easy way to get data from these PDF files back into a source member so I can load/run the code.
Is there any chance you could send the code as plain text files instead of PDF documents? That would save me a ton of time. (Otherwise, I'll essentially have to print out the PDF documents and re-type everything.)
One way to do that is to connect with FTP, and retrieve the source members in ASCII format. For example:
Code: Select all
ftp yoursystem
cd YOURLIB
ascii
get QRPGLESRC.YOURMBMER
get QCPYSRC.ANOTHERMBR
get QDDSSRC,THIRDMEMBER
,...etc...
quit
Thanks!
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
will do... thanks
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
Scott,
Here are the .txt files for the program source.
Patti
Here are the .txt files for the program source.
Patti
- Attachments
-
- HRTOOLPBCPYSRC2.TXT
- (1.62 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
-
- HRTOOLPBCPYSRC1.TXT
- (1.04 KiB) Downloaded 51 times
-
- HRTOOLPB.TXT
- (18.59 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
Here is the source for the DSPF.
- Attachments
-
- PROFOUNDDSPF.TXT
- (15.03 KiB) Downloaded 51 times
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
Hi Scott,
I just wondered if you were able to reproduce my issue?
Patti
I just wondered if you were able to reproduce my issue?
Patti
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Grid Data Missing when window called from Service Progra
I've just returned from a conference (I've been away since Thursday) so i haven't had a chance to look at this yet, but will be doing so this afternoon.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests