Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
I'm trying to clear search options in our Bulk Inventory Inquiry. Using changeElementValue() works fine with textboxes, select and combo boxes, checkboxes and dates, but I'm having trouble resetting spinners and radio button groups. Is there a way to reset these widgets to an initial value via javascript?
- Attachments
-
- Capture.PNG (42.99 KiB) Viewed 4722 times
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
Hmmm... why not do this in the RPG program? To me, anyway, it's not very intuitive for the display to clear it's own fields. Someone unfamiliar with your display might be reading the RPG code trying to figure out how the program works, and assume these fields never get cleared if the clearing is done in the display.
Having said that, doing it in the display should be possible. It only fails with spinners and radio buttons?
Having said that, doing it in the display should be possible. It only fails with spinners and radio buttons?
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
As far as I know, only with spinners and radio buttons. I wrote a date function to get a low date so all of our date would pass the filter, and the rest used the changeElementValue function. I suppose I could clear them in the RPG, but why not keep the logic on the client side? When it's an AS400 front end, I do all my clearing and error checking on that front end. And, there must be a way to reset those fields, I just don't know how to yet.
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
My best guess at this point is that nobody has added support for (spinners, radio buttons) to changeElementValue(), because we didn't think of it, and no customer has asked (until now.)
So your options are:
So your options are:
- Do it in RPG
- Use JavaScript to set these values directly (via the DOM) rather than our API. If you do this, you also need to set the widgets 'modified' flag for the value to be sent back to the RPG (this is a peculiarity of PUI)
- Wait for us to fix changeElementValue(). (This is probably your best option.)
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
Next week is fine Scott. Thanks!
- Alex
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 233
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:10 pm
- First Name: Alex
- Last Name: Roytman
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
We looked into this and it appears that changeElementValue() support is there for Spinners and it worked well in a quick test that I had set up. Are you sure it's not working for you? Can you provide an example? Does the first parameter to changeElementValue() match the id of the element exactly (it's case-sensitive).
Radio buttons are not supported by changeElementValue() and there is a reason for this. The values for radio buttons work in groups, yet the first parameter to changeElementValue() is a reference to a specific radio button with its own value, not the group. What's needed is a way to simply specify whether a specific radio button should be set checked or not. Instead of using changeElementValue(), this can should be accomplished with the following simple statement:
This checks the radio button. To uncheck it, use:
Obviously, you should replace "myradionbutton" with the id of your own radio button.
I hope this helps.
Radio buttons are not supported by changeElementValue() and there is a reason for this. The values for radio buttons work in groups, yet the first parameter to changeElementValue() is a reference to a specific radio button with its own value, not the group. What's needed is a way to simply specify whether a specific radio button should be set checked or not. Instead of using changeElementValue(), this can should be accomplished with the following simple statement:
Code: Select all
getObj("myradiobutton").checked = true;
Code: Select all
getObj("myradiobutton").checked = false;
I hope this helps.
-
- Profound User
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:20 pm
- First Name: Brian
- Last Name: Lannoye
- Company Name: Dealertrack Technologies
- Phone: 801.617.1806
- State / Province: Utah
- Zip / Postal Code: 84095
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: Clearing Fields in ProfoundUI
Alex, setting the radio button property worked.
And, I did get the spinner to zero out. I changed the increment value from 10 to 1.
After that, it worked for incremented values of 1, 2, 4 and 10.
Thank you.
And, I did get the spinner to zero out. I changed the increment value from 10 to 1.
After that, it worked for incremented values of 1, 2, 4 and 10.
Thank you.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests