Page 1 of 1

Disable property not working on button

Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:04 pm
by RichDotson
I have a button that I have a bound field on the disabled property. The field is defined as an indicator with a format of true/false. I am setting the bound field to true (*On) prior to writing the screen format but the button is still enabled and the user can click the button for processing. Is there something else I need to do to 'disable' the button?

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:17 pm
by Rob
I double checked your example and was able to disable a button by setting ON an indicator (with true/false format) bound to the disable property

You may want to debug so verify that the indicator is on at the EXFMT op code

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:22 am
by RichDotson
I do ' Dsply ('disableCWB = ' + disableCWB) 'DOTSONR'; ' just prior to the EXFMT for the screen format and the value that is displayed in my message queue is: 'DSPLY disableCWB = 1'.

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:34 pm
by RichDotson
Here is a shot of the properties box showing the setup of the bound field that I am using to try and disable the button.
disableCWB.PNG
disableCWB.PNG (32.1 KiB) Viewed 3627 times
Here is the code that is setting the disableCWB field:

Code: Select all

   // Disable Create Waybill button if there are no cars on the
   // Waybill or there are errors on those that are.
   disableCWB = (NbrOfCars = *Zero) or (NbrOfErrs > *Zero);
   Dsply ('disableCWB = ' + disableCWB) 'DOTSONR';

   // Display the W/B Entry Screen
   ExFmt WBEntry;
The DSPLY message shows that the value of disableCWB is '1'.

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 9:55 am
by RichDotson
I have discovered that this does work correctly when using IE8 but does not work when using Google Chrome 7.0.517.44.

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:53 pm
by Rob
Thanks for the feedback here. We will investigate this.

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:34 pm
by Rob
Can you tell me what button type you are using here? Is it a regular button, a Gradient Button or a Graphic button?

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:51 pm
by RichDotson
It is the Bright Gold Gradient Button.

Re: Disable property not working on button

Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:10 am
by Rob
You are correct. The standard button in the common widget section can be disabled with an indicator but the gradient buttons do not. This will be corrected in the next release.