Compile error

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
Tony
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:58 am
First Name: Tony
Last Name: Roberts
Company Name: FNB
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Compile error

Post by Tony »

Hi

After downloading the new release 2.1.5 I'm having some probs.

Everything worked fine before so I can only put it down to the upgrade.

Problem seems to be as though the pre-processor is not working anymore.
When compiling it's not expanding all the /includes.

So now after I've "successfully" compiled, I get a
Error message CPF4103 appeared during OPEN for file xxx message when launching.

I'm halfway through my 30day trial and this is not what I need now.

Please help ASAP.
thanks

I'm on V6R1
User avatar
Rob
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Ferguson
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Compile error

Post by Rob »

There have been no changes to the way the Pre-processor handles includes or copy source members for some time. Are you sure this is the cause of the problem? After compiling with the pre-processor, you can view the "pre-processed" RPG code in QTEMP/QPUILESRC, YOURMEMBER. This member should contain all expanded includes as long as they were found in the library list.

CPF4103 would indicate that the program was compiled without the pre-precessor.

Try this:
  • clear QTEMP
    re-compile using the pre-processor (eg PUIBNDRPG)
    check for QTEMP/QPUILESRC if this was not created, the pre-processor did not run.
RussCraig
Profound User
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 10:13 am
First Name: Russell
Last Name: Craig
Company Name: Applied Business Services
Phone: 252-482-7666
Address 1: 617 Soundside Rd
City: Edenton
State / Province: North Carolina
Zip / Postal Code: 27932
Country: United States
Location: Edenton, NC
Contact:

Re: Compile error

Post by RussCraig »

How are you compiling? With PUIBNDRPG, or with exit points using CRTBNDRPG and DEFINE(PROFOUNDUI)?

Since I moved to v7.1, I've compiled using exit points. You would need to run the ADDPUIEXIT program, then prompt option 14 on the desired member, making sure you have DEFINE(PROFOUNDUI) on the command line when you prompt it. Never ran into any compile/run issues this way.

Hope that helps.
-RC
There are 10 types of people in this world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Tony
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:58 am
First Name: Tony
Last Name: Roberts
Company Name: FNB
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Compile error

Post by Tony »

I'm using PUIBNDRPG with DEFINE(PROFOUNDUI).
Got the h spec define as well.

Like I said, it's like the pre-processor has just switched off since the upgrade.

Nothing is being created in qtemp.

Everything was working fine before the upgrade.
User avatar
Rob
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Ferguson
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Compile error

Post by Rob »

Make sure you are specifying the source library (not *LIBL)

PUIBNDRPG PGM(MYLIB/MYMEMBER) SRCFILE(MYLIB/QRPGLESRC)
Tony
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:58 am
First Name: Tony
Last Name: Roberts
Company Name: FNB
Country: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Compile error

Post by Tony »

Right, I found the problem.

Using:
PROFOUNDUI/PUIBNDRPG PGM(TONYPROF/TEST1SH) SRCFILE(*LIBL/QRPGLESRC) DEFINE(PROFOUNDUI)

seems to run without the pre-processor.

If I use:
PROFOUNDUI/PUIBNDRPG
PGM(TONYPROF/TEST1SH) SRCFILE(TONYPROF/QRPGLESRC)
DEFINE(PROFOUNDUI)

it works.

I just dont understand why.
TONYPROF is the first lib in my liblist aswell.
User avatar
Rob
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:12 pm
First Name: Rob
Last Name: Ferguson
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: Compile error

Post by Rob »

At the moment, the pre-processor will not search for the source member in the library list. It needs to know the actual library.

This is something we have on our "to do" list.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests