Page 1 of 1

Placing buttons inside a field set panel during conversion

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 4:29 pm
by swalter
I am trying to set up a sidebar with a background and the function keys as well as some of the information on the web page like program name, user, date, and time. I would like to fill the field set panel with the function key buttons first as the number of function keys vary. Then i would like to place the user information. If i was writing HTML, i would just create a div and fill it with this information. With that said, i'm not at all sure how to make this happen in profound. Any help, especially some examples, would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Placing buttons inside a field set panel during conversion

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:07 pm
by Scott Klement
You can code HTML in your application if you want to... we have an HTML container widget, you can bind it to a big character variable and build the HTML code in your application if you want.

I'm guessing you are using the "auto-arrange" feature of the function key links/buttons. Is that correct? Normally this is only used in "converted" applications (5250 applications that have been run through the DDS conversion). But, anyway... if you wanted to keep with this paradigm (instead of building HTML by hand) then you would position your other fields using JavaScript.

The basic idea is to add the other information (name, user, date, time, etc) in hidden widgets (output fields or whatever) and then in the screens onload event, change their top/left values to move them below the function keys, and change them to visible once they're positioned correctly. Maybe get the top/left value of the last function key using JavaScript, and then just add to that to position the ones you're placing...

This should be pretty easy to do, though I haven't heard of someone doing it before.

Re: Placing buttons inside a field set panel during conversion

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:20 am
by swalter
I am not using the auto arrange function. Our function keys are being added to the page like so:

Code: Select all

"extra textbox width": 4,
  "button css class": "CWS-button",            
  "button top": 75,                 
  "button left offset": 25,
  "button width": 100,                       
  "button height": 25,     
  "parent field set": "ActionsPanel",    //My attempt to place the buttons in a panel. 
  "horizontal button spacing": 0,
  "vertical button spacing": 5,
  "buttons per row": 1,
  "add submit button": true,
  "submit button text": "Enter",
  "buttons start at the top": true,
  "show fkey name as tool tip": true,
  "auto arrange": false,
  "show fkey name": false,
  "show fkey text": true,
Ive been experimenting with a function that runs on the "process fkey" field but i have had no luck so far. Im not sure if i should be looking to increment a variable as if the "process fkey" was occurring everytime a function key is added or if i should be utilizing something like "format.items.length" to retrieve a number of total function keys added.

Unfortunately, the pages have different function keys so im not sure what the last function key would be on every page we wish to convert.

Re: Placing buttons inside a field set panel during conversion

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:38 pm
by Scott Klement
Sorry, I somehow missed that this was being done during DDS conversion. DDS conversion is not my area of expertise, I'll let someone else respond.