Page 1 of 1
I18n and LANGID problem.
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:55 pm
by vijo
Hi
We have to display screens and Atrium menus in 2 different languages (fr_FR and en_US). In the same partition.
Is it possible to have two languages in atrium ?
Setting LANGID in user profile doesn't work. We had to change system's QLANGID or LANGID in QTMHHTTP's user profile but all users will have the same language.
Is there a way to select the language on a per-user basis.
Perhaps it is possible to run two instances of http server on two different ports but the second instance would have to run on another user profile (not QTMHHTTP).
Thanks a lot.
Re: I18n and LANGID problem.
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 4:45 pm
by matt.denninghoff
Do your RPG programs display different text for different languages? Or are you simply wanting the Profound UI to output different languages?
If it's the latter, then you could setup a JavaScript file in your userdata/custom/js/ folder with something like this:
Code: Select all
if( pui.appJob.user == "CDEGAULLE"){
pui.language = "fr_FR";
}
That would go inside the pui.onload function.
Or if it's a genie session, put that code inside the genie skin's custom.js inside the customize function.
Re: I18n and LANGID problem.
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:23 am
by Scott Klement
I would not recommend changing an IBM-supplied user profile (such as QTMHHTTP). You should always leave these at their original IBM-supplied values.
The example that Matt provided is to set pui.language for Profound UI's messages.
If you wish to control the messages used in your own application (if you used our International Language Support feature) you should use the PUISETLANG command. There is more information about this command at the following link:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/pages ... d=15433732
You can call this command from a CL or RPG program, and you can set different settings depending on IF/WHEN/etc settings.
Good luck!
Re: I18n and LANGID problem.
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 1:44 pm
by vijo
If I understand correctly, we will have to add a call to PUISETLANG in every program.
Isn't it possible to use the web browser language setting, using something like this:
Code: Select all
var str = navigator.language;
if( str.substring(0, 2) == "en"){
pui.setLanguage = "en_US";
};
for the International Language Support feature (perhaps in a future release ?) ?
What about Atrium, has it a support for Internationalization ? I couldn't find anything about it in the documentation.
Re: I18n and LANGID problem.
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 10:32 am
by Scott Klement
You could write something that does that, but there's nothing built-in that does it today.
If you'd like to submit a feature request, you can do so by e-mailng
support@profoundlogic.com
Re: I18n and LANGID problem.
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:40 pm
by matt.denninghoff
Also, there is not currently international language support for Atrium, except for a handful of messages that can be overridden:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... ptCloseTab
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... oseBrowser
It's in our developer queue to implement this feature, but I don't have an estimate when.