I have a program that uses STRPCCMD to run an Atrium option from the Iseries. It worked just fine until I added a warehouse parm to the Atrium option definition. I assumed I needed to change the path to include the parm info, as it would not execute without. This is the path that used to work: "http://mcgas400:8080/profoundui/auth/st ... m_item=449"
This is the new path that does not work:
"http://mcgas400:8080/profoundui/auth/st ... p1=L1&l1=2"
Profound issues me a "session has ended" message. I can also see on the browser line that the path does NOT contain the parm information. I ran the process in debug and I can see that the STRPCCMD is executing the correct command string.
I can, however, copy the path into the browser line and it works just fine. Thoughts? Thank you, Patti
STRPCCMD to run Atrium option
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: STRPCCMD to run Atrium option
What usually causes a problem with launching a URL via STRPCCMD is how Windows interprets special characters in the URL. Certain characters, such as the & character, have a special meaning in some Windows command interfaces... so this can be problematic.
I tried it this way, and it seemed to work fine for me:
I've found that the FileProtocolHandler usually works well with URLs that have special characters in them. My experience is that launching via 'explorer' often chokes on the = characters in a URL. Launching with 'start' fails with almost any special character (plus opens an ugly DOS window). Launching with ShellExec_RunDLL works nicely on old versions of windows, but fails on new ones. FileProtocolHandler seems to work just about anywhere... the only bad thing is it makes the STRPCCMD longer, so you're more likely to hit the 123 character limit.
I tried it this way, and it seemed to work fine for me:
Code: Select all
strpccmd pccmd('rundll32 url,FileProtocolHandler http://plbox:8080/profoundui/auth/start?atrium_item=274&p1=L1&l1=2')
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 147
- Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:00 pm
- First Name: Patti
- Last Name: Bednarz
- Company Name: McGard
- State / Province: New York
- Country: United States
- Contact:
Re: STRPCCMD to run Atrium option
Thanks...works perfect!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests