HTML script integrate with RPG program

Use this board to ask questions or have discussions with other Rich Displays users.
Post Reply
mrojek
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:48 pm
First Name: Mike
Last Name: Rojek
Company Name: McGard
State / Province: New York
Zip / Postal Code: 14127
Country: United States
Contact:

HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by mrojek »

I have a simple html file that I want to implement into my RPG program (attached). Basically the html file retrieves latitude and longitude coordinates. I am trying to get the latitude and longitude coordinates into text fields in the display program, but I am not sure how to do this. Is there anyway you can do this without using RPGsp, maybe just using javascript? Any information would be great.

Thanks
Attachments
code.txt
(569 Bytes) Downloaded 292 times
User avatar
David
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
First Name: David
Last Name: Russo
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by David »

Yes, you can use any JavaScript you'd like in RPGsp pages. JavaScript code is handled entirely by your web browser, and is not dependent on or affected by RPGsp in any way.

This means that you can use any 3rd party JavaScript code, components, tutorials, etc., and there are absolutely no special requirements for RPGsp. If your web browser supports the code, you can run it in an RPGsp page!

You can integrate this code using the following general steps, please see JavaScript references/tutorial for exact coding concepts and syntax:

1. You can place the 'getLocation()' function into a JavaScript file inside your http server document root directory.

2. You can place a <script> tag into the <head> section of your RPGsp page to link in the file.

3. Then you can call the 'getLocation()' function as needed.

4. JavaScript code can manipulate HTML elements on screen, for example this code will change the value in a text box:

Code: Select all


// Here we are referring to the "id" attribute on the <input tag...

document.getElementById("theId").value = "My new value";

Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by Scott Klement »

You could certainly do this from a Profound UI Rich Display file (or converted DDS screen.) You don't need to use RPGsp.

What you'd do is put your JavaScript file in the /www/YOUR-INSTANCE/htdocs/profoundui/userdata/custom/js directory. (Or a similar location.) The Handler will automatically load code that's under userdata/custom/js.

Instead of using document.getElementById() and x.innerHTML, you'd want to use the changeElementValue() API to change the value of a text box. This would put the coordinates into a regular field on the display that would be read by your RPG program when the screen is submitted.

Does that help? Would you like me to put together a quick example program?
User avatar
David
Profound Logic Staff Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
First Name: David
Last Name: Russo
Company Name: Profound Logic Software
Contact:

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by David »

Sorry, about that. For some reason I read your post as saying that you were or wanted to use RPGsp, but I see now that you had said the opposite. :-).
mrojek
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:48 pm
First Name: Mike
Last Name: Rojek
Company Name: McGard
State / Province: New York
Zip / Postal Code: 14127
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by mrojek »

Hey guys, thanks for responding to my question so fast!

Scott, can you do a quick example program? I am still having trouble getting the value of the text box to change for some reason.

Any information would be great.
Thanks
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by Scott Klement »

Okay, I decided rather than creating a separate JS file to just put the logic under the "onclick" of my button. So here's the screen I came up with:
6-24-2013 5-23-14 PM.png
6-24-2013 5-23-14 PM.png (53.75 KiB) Viewed 3339 times
The basic idea is that it will do a geolocation routine to find out where my browser is located, and when that completes, it will fill-in the textboxes named "txtLat" and "txtLon" (for latitude and longitude, respectively) with the values from the geolocation. The txtLat and txtLon widgets are bound to the Lat & Lon variables in the RPG program -- so when the results come back, I have it use pui.click() to submit control back to the RPG. I didn't really need to go back to the RPG in this example, but I thought it might be interesting, because it allows you to see how you'd get the data into the RPG program if you need it there.

This is what the "onclick" for the "TryIt" button looks like:

Code: Select all

if (navigator.geolocation) {
     navigator.geolocation.getCurrentPosition(function(pos) {
       changeElementValue("txtLat", pos.coords.latitude);
       changeElementValue("txtLon", pos.coords.longitude);
       pui.click("btnSubmit");
     });
}
else {
  alert("Geolocation is not supported by this browser.");
}
Then, just for kicks, I had the RPG build a URL to Google Maps to show that location in an iFrame widget, so you can see where those coordinates are on a map, as shown, above.

I've attached the PUI display file and the RPG code as attachments to this post so you can see how it all works.
Attachments
geolocr.rpgle.txt
(516 Bytes) Downloaded 521 times
geolocd.dspf.txt
(6.65 KiB) Downloaded 404 times
mrojek
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:48 pm
First Name: Mike
Last Name: Rojek
Company Name: McGard
State / Province: New York
Zip / Postal Code: 14127
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by mrojek »

Scott,

Works great, thanks for all your help!
jbarajas
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:32 pm
First Name: jimmy
Last Name: barajas
Company Name: TMW systems
Contact:

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by jbarajas »

Hello Scott,
Hope you had a wonderful Christmas Season.

I have a question for you....
My problem is, I need the Iframe-html to update a couple of fields to the Rich-display and then hit Enter.
(something like from your sample, when I click on the map, the lat/long is passed back to the Rich-display and hit submit)

Thanks
Jimmy Barajas
Scott Klement wrote:Okay, I decided rather than creating a separate JS file to just put the logic under the "onclick" of my button. So here's the screen I came up with:
6-24-2013 5-23-14 PM.png
The basic idea is that it will do a geolocation routine to find out where my browser is located, and when that completes, it will fill-in the textboxes named "txtLat" and "txtLon" (for latitude and longitude, respectively) with the values from the geolocation. The txtLat and txtLon widgets are bound to the Lat & Lon variables in the RPG program -- so when the results come back, I have it use pui.click() to submit control back to the RPG. I didn't really need to go back to the RPG in this example, but I thought it might be interesting, because it allows you to see how you'd get the data into the RPG program if you need it there.

This is what the "onclick" for the "TryIt" button looks like:

Code: Select all

if (navigator.geolocation) {
     navigator.geolocation.getCurrentPosition(function(pos) {
       changeElementValue("txtLat", pos.coords.latitude);
       changeElementValue("txtLon", pos.coords.longitude);
       pui.click("btnSubmit");
     });
}
else {
  alert("Geolocation is not supported by this browser.");
}
Then, just for kicks, I had the RPG build a URL to Google Maps to show that location in an iFrame widget, so you can see where those coordinates are on a map, as shown, above.

I've attached the PUI display file and the RPG code as attachments to this post so you can see how it all works.
Scott Klement
Experienced User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Klement
Company Name: Profound Logic
City: Milwaukee
State / Province: Wisconsin

Re: HTML script integrate with RPG program

Post by Scott Klement »

Hey there Jimmy,

If you have JavaScript running in an iframe, it can access the parent document by prefixing it's DOM calls with 'parent'. In my example in this thread, of course, the JavaScript is running in the parent already, so there was no need to do that. But... it should work from the child by adding the 'parent' prefix.

Does that answer your question? I'm not familiar with your "iframe html", so I'm hoping I'm answering it right :-)
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest