link to a folder
-
- New User
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:28 pm
- First Name: Gus
- Last Name: Cobos
- Company Name: Morilee
- Phone: 9542461490 x 218
- State / Province: Florida
- Country: United States
- Contact:
link to a folder
How can I create a link to a server or folder on my network?
- David
- Profound Logic Staff Member
- Posts: 690
- Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:11 pm
- First Name: David
- Last Name: Russo
- Company Name: Profound Logic Software
- Contact:
Re: link to a folder
Can you explain a bit on what you are looking for here? Does this mean that you want Windows Explorer to open to a particular folder?
The web browser has no built-in capability to open Windows Explorer, so some custom programming would be required.
If the requirement is as simple as just running an 'explorer' command on the local PC, Genie's PC command applet could possibly be used, see here for details:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... ration+API
The web browser has no built-in capability to open Windows Explorer, so some custom programming would be required.
If the requirement is as simple as just running an 'explorer' command on the local PC, Genie's PC command applet could possibly be used, see here for details:
http://www.profoundlogic.com/docs/displ ... ration+API
-
- Experienced User
- Posts: 2711
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:58 am
- First Name: Scott
- Last Name: Klement
- Company Name: Profound Logic
- City: Milwaukee
- State / Province: Wisconsin
Re: link to a folder
Here's a quick utility that might help you....
This is a command, named OPENFLR... put it in QCMDSRC with member named OPENFLR:
Here's a corresponding CL program, to go in the QCLSRC file, and named OPENFLRCL:
Compile these members with the following commands. I suggest putting them somewhere that will be in your library list.
Now you should be open to open a Windows folder from either IBM i Access (PC5250), or Genie by typing something like:
This should open that folder on the user's screen. In Genie, you'll have to tell it to trust a signed Java applet first (see the link David provided) but once you've done that, it should open as you expect.
Does this help?
This is a command, named OPENFLR... put it in QCMDSRC with member named OPENFLR:
Code: Select all
CMD PROMPT('Open Folder')
PARM KWD(FLR) TYPE(*CHAR) LEN(112) MIN(1) +
EXPR(*YES) PROMPT('Windows folder')
Code: Select all
PGM PARM(&FLR)
DCL VAR(&CMD) TYPE(*CHAR) LEN(123)
DCL VAR(&FLR) TYPE(*CHAR) LEN(112)
STRPCO PCTA(*NO)
MONMSG IWS4010
CHGVAR VAR(&CMD) +
VALUE('explorer "' *TCAT &FLR *TCAT '"')
STRPCCMD PCCMD(&CMD) PAUSE(*NO)
ENDPGM
Code: Select all
CRTCLPGM PGM(OPENFLRCL) SRCFILE(QCLSRC)
CRTCMD CMD(OPENFLR) SRCFILE(QCMDSRC) PGM(OPENFLRCL)
Code: Select all
OPENFLR FLR('i:\Documents\case5476\')
Does this help?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest